Three Nelson players in Lincoln squad

23:00, Dec 21 2012

Nelson has three players in the Central Districts A for the provincial A tournament at Lincoln next month.

Captain BJ Barnett, in-form batsman Greg Hay and young allrounder Connor Neynens are in the squad of 12, while pace bowler Joe O'Connor is in the non-travelling reserves.

Barnett was named to captain the side which also features other CD-contracted players Jeet Raval, Andrew Mathieson, Dean Robinson and Ben Smith.

Andrew Lamb, Roald Badenhorst, Bevan Small and Ajaz Patel have also spent time in the main CD team this season.

Manawatu wicketkeeper Dane Cleaver was not considered because of injury.

That was also the case with bowlers Ben Wheeler (Marlborough) and Stevie Smidt (Hawke's Bay).


The tournament runs from January 2 to 9 and includes five one-day games and three Twenty20s.

Central Districts A: Roald Badenhorst (Manawatu), B J Barnett (Nelson) captain, Greg Hay (Nelson), Andrew Lamb (Horowhenua-Kapiti), Andrew Mathieson (Hawke's Bay ), Connor Neynens (Nelson), Ajaz Patel (Hawke's Bay), Jeet Raval (Hawke's Bay), Dean Robinson (Taranaki), Bevan Small (Manawatu), Ben Smith (Wanganui), Michael Taiaroa (Hawke's Bay).

Non-travelling reserves: Matthew Bacon (Horowhenua-Kapiti), Joe O'Connor (Nelson), Seb Langridge (Hawke's Bay), David Meiring (Manawatu).

Meanwhile, two Nelson players have been selected in the Central Districts under-17s to play in a quadrangular tournament against Otago, Canterbury and Wellington in Christchurch from January 20-25. Daniel Grimes has been an effective wicket-taker in club cricket while Joel Harden follows in father, Richard's, footsteps.

The Nelson Mail