Seven still in Grand Prix contention

23:00, Jan 18 2013

Seven Nelson superstock drivers won through to tonight's finals of the New Zealand Superstock Grand Prix in Canterbury last night.

Last weekend's heroes, Dale McKenzie and Thomas Stanaway, were sporting their new numbers courtesy of their second and third placings in last weekend's New Zealand Home Loans NZ Superstock Championships.

The impressive McKenzie spun to the back early in his first heat before steaming through the field, and won his second heat.

Stanaway was effective, if not sensational, staying out of harm's way to comfortably advance to tonight's finals.

A puncture in the third heat was not enough to stop Jared Gray advancing but he was not the only one having third-heat troubles.

Shane Harwood's car had a nasty-sounding misfire which saw him drift back through the field, but he was hopeful the problem would be sorted today.


Rotorua's Scott Hewson finished as top qualifier in the Koken group on 56 points, ahead of Palmerston North youngster Jack Miers (50) and Stratford's Phil Ogle (49). Stanaway finished sixth overall on 47.

Blair Cunningham was lucky to qualify in 11th on 27 points after not finishing the second heat due to a broken shock absorber, and Ian Clayworth also barely scraped into the finals.

Adam Joblin topped the AmPro group with 53 points, tied with Malcolm Ngatai and Chad Ace on 52 points.

McKenzie was next on 50 points, and Brett Nicholls (40) and Gray, who circulated slowly with a right rear puncture.

Ricky Boulton made it through in the last qualifying spot.

The Nelson Mail