Top seeds take the wins

00:07, Feb 07 2013

The top seeds confirmed their standings with wins in both the men's and women's open divisions at yesterday's Port Nelson Tasman Open beach volleyball championships at Tahunanui.

Greg Lindsay-Brown and Pat Shone ran true to form in winning the Port Nelson men's open title, while Micah Lindsay-Brown matched her husband in joining with Claudia Van Velthooven to take the victory in the ASB women's open.

Lindsay-Brown and Shone finished top of pool play in the men's division to set up a semifinal clash with Armins Vensbergs and Andrew Jeffries who had won their final pool match to make the playoffs.

The top seeds won their semifinal 2-0, with fourth seeds Jack Robb and New Zealand under-19 player Monty Brosnahan upsetting third seeds Harry Fergusson and James Anderson, both under-17 representatives, 2-1 in their semifinal after winning the third set 11-8.

Lindsay-Brown and Shone completed another 2-0 win in the final, beating Brosnahan and Robb 21-13 21-13 to secure the title.

In the women's final, Lindsay-Brown and Van Velthooven faced determined opposition from under-17 New Zealand beach representatives Ellie Bell and Gabby Edmundson before securing a 2-0 win.


Rosie Bywater and Sophia Johnston beat Julia Thompsett and Sophie Daines 2-0 to finish third.

Jacob King and Nikau Webster beat Zaw Tin and Mitchell Faulkner 2-0 to win the Stirling Sports under-16 boys' title, the boys playing in a power pool with the under-16 girls teams before splitting off to play the final.

The Cap-It-All under-16 girls title went to Abbey Jessop and Tanika Langbridge after they secured a 2-1 upset win over top seeds Katie Ditzel and Hannah Davenhill. Jessop and Langbridge had beaten Holly Mace and Caroline Schurmann 2-0 in the semifinals, while the top seeds had earned a bye directly into the final.

Sam Adams and Chris Chamberlain won the 623 on the Rocks social 2s division involving three teams in a double round-robin competition and final.

The Nelson Mail