Seven medals for Nelson swimmers in third leg of national ocean swim series

Nelson swimmers Terry Bone, left, Luke Kelly, Brian McGurk, Peter Gibbs, Dick Bennison, Kerry Mathieson, Barry Thomas, ...

Nelson swimmers Terry Bone, left, Luke Kelly, Brian McGurk, Peter Gibbs, Dick Bennison, Kerry Mathieson, Barry Thomas, David Marriott, Janis Crampton, Derek Eaton gather pre-swim.


Fifteen Nelson swimmers took seven medals from the 3km Capital Classic, race three of the New Zealand Ocean Swim Series in Wellington on Sunday.

Luke Kelly was the best of the Nelson competitors, placing eighth overall for fourth in his M15-19 age group in 40min 7sec over the revised course in Lyall Bay.

Because of forecast strong northerlies, organisers decided as early as Friday to move the course from the traditional course across Wellington Harbour, but  557 swimmers still faced challenging conditions in the two-lap rectangular course of 3km on the Wellington surf beach.

The first leg took the field against the wind for about 700m close to shore, before a short leg out to sea then a return to a buoy offshore from the start.

This leg was the toughest, as wind and tide carried swimmers further offshore and into rougher conditions. Those that handled the swim best kept as close inshore as possible, not an easy task in the conditions.

Terry Bone was the first medallist from the Nelson group, crossing the line 20th overall to win M40-45 in 42min 55sec. Kerry Mathieson (46.46) was 44th to score a second Nelson gold, this time in F45-49.

Christine Harris in 73rd took silver in F50-54 in a time of 49min 8sec.

Janis Crampton (52.10) and Derek Eaton (54.26) also took gold medals in their respective F55-59 and M75-79 sections. Dick Bennison (54.29) and Margaret Johnston (56.41) both came home with bronze medals from their respective 60-64 age groups.

At a glance

Ad Feedback

Nelson results: Luke Kelly 40.07 8 (4th M15-19), Terry Bone 42.55 20 (1st M40-44), Kerry Mathieson 46.46 44 (1st F45-49), Christina Harris 49.08 73 (2nd F50-54), Barry Thomas 50.53 104 (5th M55-59), Janis Crampton 52.10 126 (1st F55-59), Roger Matheson 54.09 155 (7th M55-59), Derek Eaton 54.26 159 (1st M75-79), Dick Bennison 3rd 54.29 160 (M60-64), Stuart Hebberd 56.12 181 (4th M65-69), Margaret Johnston 56.41 191 (3rd F60-64), Peter Gibbs 1.00.43 252 (6th M65-69), Brian McGurk 18th 1.02.30 289 (M55-59), David Marriott 1.04.20 329 (27th M55-59), Les Le Bas 1.21.46 509 (6th M70-75).
In the short race over 500m, Pauline Shoemack place sixth in F50-59 in 23min 14sec

 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback