Final Port Nelson Sea Swim fast paced

Luke Kelly, pictured at an earlier swim, won Thursday's final seaswim.

Luke Kelly, pictured at an earlier swim, won Thursday's final seaswim.

The Port Nelson Sea Swim Series went out on an adrenalin-charged rush, as swimmers tackled an 800m sprint, starting into a swiftly flowing incoming tide from the Nelson Yacht Club on Thursday night.

Luke Kelly was up for the challenge, as he belted home in 8 minutes 18 seconds, ahead of Josh Sheridan (8.26), Terry Bone (8.31) and Jody Keefe-Laing (8.32).

It was a slow first leg, as the field headed south into the strong current for the first 400m.

With a total race distance less than half of that in recent weeks, swimmers were giving it full gas all the way to the mark, knowing the return to the yacht club would be rapid.

Simon Kneebone (8.43), Chris King (8.48) and Ben Van Dyke (8.50) were next the finish, followed by the first woman, Flossie Van Dyke, in 8min 59sec.

Georgie Trengrove (9.06) had one of her best results, finishing second ahead of Kerry Mathieson (9.19), Christina Harris (9.23), Jude Vincent (10.13), Wendy Healey (10.43), Maxime Jansens (10.45) and Megan Begg (10.50).

Competitors in the short swim battled the current, with many making little or no progress against the current, six swimmers retreating to the rescue boats and many others battling to make it to the shore at the finish as they were pushed up the harbour.

Emily Bryant had a powerful swim over about 400m, touching the ramp after 7min 16sec, ahead of Hannah Martin (7.31), Nicholas Paulin (7.46), Gemma Langley (7.48), Mia Langley (8.39) and Katie Jonas (9.13).

In a season lasting 18 weeks there was one cancellation, with season points taken on each swimmer's 12 best results over the 17 competition swims.

As well as winners being decided in 10-year age group bands, the overall series winners were awarded their trophies and certificates.

Ad Feedback

Hayden Squance came out ahead of two-time previous winner Luke Kelly in the men's section, ahead of Terry Bone, Matai McGuinniety and Fraser Neill, another former winner of the series.

Consistency paid off for Kerry Mathieson, who took the women's trophy ahead of Jude Vincent and Christina Harris, who dead heated for second, with Georgie Trengrove in fourth ahead of Piper Riley.

Attention now turns to the final endurance swim of the season, the Haulashore Circuit, on March 26.

Information and full results at


Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback