Juniors shine as Nelson launch raid on neighbours

A strong contingent from the Golden Edge Nelson Rowing Club took the overall honours at the Marlborough rowing championships on the Wairau River last weekend.

The annual regatta, hosted by the Blenheim Rowing Club and sponsored by Meridian Energy, attracted approximately 250 rowers from 10 clubs from as far away as Canterbury, as well as the Petone club from Wellington.

The Nelson Rowing Club contingent, competing in almost all categories, had a string of strong performances and managed to win the regatta from the Wairau club.

After the heats last Saturday, the finals were held on Sunday in warm, blustery conditions that made rowing difficult at times.

In the day's second final, the Nelson women's coxed quad sculls, comprising Charlotte Newnham, Adele Brown, Natasha Bonham-Carter, Taya Haldane and cox Rosa Wilkie, won the title.

The girls' under-17 coxed quad sculls crew of Sasha Cullum, Tessa Smith, Charlotte Anderson-McEwen, Annie Grimes and Wilkie also won their final, then came second in the under-17 coxed eights with the addition of Hayley Wylde, Jessie Stephens, Eilish Byrne and Anja Possegger. Claire McCrostie joined the crew as cox.

The under-17 double sculls crew of Cullum and Smith won their final. In the open, the champion men's double sculls pair of Sean Ducray and Sam Johnston won, with Joseph Brady and Anton Possegger third. In the open single, Olly Stephens was first in the B final.

The Nelson women's open eight won their final, and in the open coxless four, Nelson put in a great performance in coming a close second to the RPC high performance crew based at the Wairau club. The team comprised Kirsty Thompson, Anna Miles, Hannah Starnes and Charlotte McIntyre. The open coxless pair of Thompson and Miles placed second.

The club's men's rowers had good results early on, with Nelson's junior sports team of the year, Ducray and Johnston, winning the men's club coxless pair and the combination of Wade Puklowski and Anton Possegger taking third.

Possegger won the B final of the club single, and he and Puklowski were first ahead of Olly Stephens and Joseph Brady in the club double sculls.

The women's club rowers of Haldane and Brown were second in their final and third in the club coxed eight, along with crewmates Newnham, Kaitlyn Wehner, Anderson-McEwen, Lucia Cameron, Bonham-Carter, Annie Grimes and cox Wilkie.

Overall, the novice boys performed very well in their first full regatta, coming first and second in the coxed quad fours and coxed fours, the winning team comprising Cielo Boswijk, William Taylor, Hamish Topp, Perry Smith and cox Patric Lorandi. The second team consisted of Jono Mills, Jack Castle, Devon Davis and Ryan Flintoff, with Tate Robinson as cox.

In the boys' under-15 double sculls, Smith and Castle rowed well for second place, while the novice coxed eight, comprising all the aforementioned rowers, won their final convincingly.

The novice girls also competed in their first full regatta, with the eight third in their final. The crew was made up of Hayley Wylde, Eilish Byrne, Anja Possegger, Jessie Stephens, Jorja MacRae, Jessica Amberger, Chloe de Vries, Xarvia Chisholm and cox Claire McCrostie. Nelson were second and fourth in the coxed quad sculls, and the novice coxed four placed third in the A final and won the B final. That crew comprised MacRae, Amberger, de Vries and Olivia Fletcher, with Lorandi as cox. The under-15 pair of Byrne and Chisholm were second in their final.

The Nelson Mail