Seniors do well with six second-place finishes

Local players finished outside the titles despite some close calls over the four days of competition at the Tennis New Zealand seniors national individual championships.

Played at both the Tasman Tennis Centre and Hope club, locals managed six second placings in either singles or doubles events.

Tahunanui's Suzanne Spencer finished runner-up to Browns Bay's Diana D'Audney in the women's 35 singles, while the Nelson duo of Allan Innes-Walker and Andre Van Rooyen combined for second place in the men's 35-40 doubles behind the Cashmere duo of Simon Lind and Mark Phelan.

Hope's Peter Ogilvie and Tasman's Leanne Greep finished runners-up to Lugton Park's Paul Smith and Tia Van Selm in the 40-45 mixed doubles while Tasman's Anne Bryant and Tania Smith were second to Karen Cranston (Whanganui) and Felicity Oxnevad (Queenstown) in the women's 50 doubles.

Hope's John Dunlop and Alan Wright were runners-up in the men's 60 doubles, with Dunlop third in the singles.

Wakapuaka's Nori Kobayashi partnered Waihora's John Dunbier to second behind Cashmere's Dave Meredith and Max Morrison in the men's 65 doubles.

Tahunanui's Geoff Nalder and Lake Pupuke's Allan Wilkins were third in the combined age men's doubles, Nelson's Lynnie Nevin partnered Spencer to a third placing in the women's 35-40 doubles and Wakapuaka's Lynn Broughton and Tahunanui's Cathie Fearey were third in the women's 60 doubles.

Hope's Jim Tompkins and Tauranga Lawns' Dave Hawkes finished third in the men's 65 doubles.

Third placings also went to Motueka's Tim Martin and Blockhouse Bay's Wayne Molloy in the men's 50 doubles, to Nelson's Kate Prebble and Sue Rooney in the women's 55 doubles, to Motueka's Kathy Ing and Hope's Penny Molnar in the women's 65 doubles and to Nelson's Max Bellis and Canterbury's Dylis Hancox in the mixed 75 doubles.

The four days of competition involved 152 players, with four players receiving championship gold medals.

Western Bay of Plenty's Tupp Cox secured her gold with victories in the women's 75 singles, doubles and mixed doubles. Waikato's Sandy Tritt won the women's 60 doubles and 65 singles and mixed doubles and Christchurch's Sally Moorfield picked up gold for wins in the 50 mixed doubles, women's 35-40 doubles and 55 singles.

Christchurch's Peter Hampton swept the men's 55 singles, doubles and mixed doubles.

Division winners - men's 35-40 singles: Mark Phelan (Cashmere); women's 35 singles: Diana D'Audney (Browns Bay); men's 35-40 doubles: Simon Lind/Mark Phelan (Cashmere); women's 35-40 doubles: Sally Moorfield/Adele Orangi (Hagley Park); mixed 35 doubles: Mike Clapshaw (Kerikeri)/Diana D'Audney (Browns Bay); combined age men's doubles: Paul Davidson/Richard Wilding (Hokitika); men's 45 singles: Mike Clapshaw (Kerikeri); men's 45 doubles: Steve Buckmaster (Remuera)/Philip Hempstead (Hamilton); mixed 40-45 doubles: Paul Smith/Tia Van Selm (Lugton Park); women's 50 doubles: Karen Cranston (Whanganui)/Felicity Oxnevad (Queenstown); men's 50 singles: John Lawrence (Blockhouse Bay); women's 50 singles: Karen Cranston (Wanganui); men's 50 doubles: Steve Billing (Ngatitoa)/Mike Callard (Gate Pa); mixed 50 doubles: Wayne Molloy (Blockhouse Bay)/Sally Moorfield (Hagley Park); men's 55 singles: Peter Hampton (Cashmere); women's 55 singles: Sally Moorfield (Hagley Park); women's 55 doubles: Jill Gordon (Mt Maunganui)/Marion Mills (Parnell); mixed 55 doubles: Peter Hampton (Cashmere)/Felicity Oxnevad (Queenstown); men's 55 doubles: Peter Hampton/Paul Smith (Cashmere); men's 60 singles: Larry Seales (Gate Pa); women's 60 singles: Victoria Kerrison (Greendale); men's 60 doubles: Quentin Maisey (Mangere Combined)/Larry Seales (Gate Pa); women's 60 doubles: Victoria Kerrison (Greendale)/Sandy Tritt (Lugton Park); mixed 60 doubles: Quentin Maisey/Sue Jamieson (Western BOP); men's 65 singles: Dave Meredith (Cashmere); women's 65 singles: Sandy Tritt (Lugton Park); men's 65 doubles: Dave Meredith/Max Morrison (Cashmere); women's 65 doubles: Beverly Billington (Warkworth)/Sandra Glennie (Whanganui); mixed 65 doubles: Dave Hawkes (Tauranga)/Sandy Tritt (Lugton Park); men's 70 singles: John Cook (Waiata Epsom); women's 70 singles: Gloria Wilmot (Warkworth); men's 70 doubles: Murray Billington/David Theyers (Warkworth); women's 70-75 doubles: Tup Cox (Remuera)/Janice Larmer (Mairangi Bay); mixed 70 doubles: David Theyers (Warkworth)/Janice Larmer (Mairangi Bay); men's 75-80 singles: Max Brown (Koru); women's 75 singles: Tup Cox (Remuera); mixed 75 doubles: Gary Pike (Mairangi Bay)/Tup Cox (Remuera); men's 75 doubles: Keith Burt/Paul Honiss (Lugton Park).