Class act Hay victorious again

00:00, Apr 10 2014

Nelson representative batsman Greg Hay has backed up last season's effort by winning consecutive Nelson Cricketer of the Year awards.

The Nelson and Waimea Toi Toi United right-hander has claimed the title, despite narrowly missing out to Wanderers' Dan Cooper in both the season's top club and representative batting awards.

With both the Vonda Edwards Trophy club and representative batting titles decided on run-scoring, Hay's absence for part of the club season due to his commitments with the Central Stags enabled Cooper to secure both awards.

Cooper scored 821 runs to clinch the Vonda Edwards Trophy, just 37 clear of Hay on 784, with Cooper's 385 representative runs also edging Hay's 326-run aggregate. However, Hay's consistency saw him score four club centuries, plus another innings of 125 for Nelson against Buller in their Hawke Cup elimination match.

That innings involved a superb 293-run second wicket partnership with Cooper, who also marked the occasion with his own remarkable effort of 201 not out.

Hay's season-topping performance though, came at Rangiora in February when he scored his maiden first class double century for the Stags in their Plunket Shield match against Canterbury, Hay finishing on 202.


Wanderers' English import Jack White won the Sid Guppy Cup as the leading club wicket-taker, finishing with 49 wickets, while his Wanderers team-mate Joe O'Connor claimed the representative bowling award with 20 wickets. O'Connor was also named Nelson's representative player of the year.

In other club awards, Wanderers was predictably named team of the year after picking up both the senior T20 and one-day titles and losing to WTTU in the two-day championship final.

Young Nelson, Athletic College Old Boys and Nelson College all-rounder Josh Clarkson was also a popular choice as emerging player of the year.

Season winners - College grade: Nelson College Knights; president's grade: Mapua; second grade T20 and one day: Nelson College; senior two day: WTTU; senior T20 and one day: Wanderers; team of the year: Wanderers; junior male: Fergus Murray; junior female: Kate Gagging; emerging player: Josh Clarkson; fielder: Adam Leonard; wicketkeeper (Ken Wadsworth Trophy): Mason Robinson; batsman (Vonda Edwards Trophy): Dan Cooper; bowler (Sid Guppy Cup): Jack White; representative batsman: Cooper; representative bowler: Joe O'Connor; Presidents Cup: Rebecca Shearer (Tapawera); Club MVP: Mo Taylor (Stoke-Nayland); player of the year: Greg Hay.