Secondary schools' rugby sevens to be screened live

00:00, Nov 14 2012

Live television coverage of the national secondary schools rugby sevens returns for the first time in over a decade on Sunday December 2.

Sky Television will show the BNZ Condor Sevens - which features Nelson College as one of 16 boys' and 16 girls' teams from around New Zealand - live on the Rugby Channel with delayed highlights on Sky Sport.

Sky Television Director of Sport Richard Last said rugby sevens was a popular sport on the network.

"It is a natural progression following the schoolboy rugby that features on the channel," he said.

The last time the Condor Sevens, which will be played for the 26th time, was on television was in 1998, the year the sport made its debut in the Commonwealth Games. Fourteen years later the tournament is the first to be played with rugby sevens officially an Olympic sport.

Christchurch BHS and Wesley College completed the boys' field with victories in their regional qualifiers over Burnside HS and Manurewa HS respectively. Both go into a tough pool A which features two-time defending champions Kelston BHS.


Last year's runnersup Nelson College are in pool B with the team they beat in the 2011 semifinal, former champion Auckland Grammar School.

Two-time winner Hamilton BHS, a semifinalist last year, face Rotorua BHS in pool C, while Auckland champion MAGS, who last won the Condor Cup in 2009, take on teams from both the far north and far south in pool D.

Christchurch, Palmerston North, Westlake, Francis Douglas and Scot's College are the schools who were not part of the 2011 edition. Pool A: Christchurch BHS, Kelston BHS, Palmerston North BHS, Wesley College.

Pool B: Auckland Grammar School, Napier BHS, Nelson College, Westlake BHS.

Pool C: Francis Douglas Memorial College, Hamilton BHS, Otago BHS, Rotorua BHS.

Pool D: Mt Albert GS, Scot's College, Southland BHS, Whangarei BHS.

The Nelson Mail