Adam Barwood leads New Zealand alpine team

00:31, Jul 17 2014
Adam Barwood
TEAM LEADER: Adam Barwood placed 25th in the slalom and 44th in the giant slalom at the Sochi Winter Olympics in February.

Sochi Olympian Adam Barwood leads a three-man Snowsports NZ national alpine team.

The Queenstown skier is joined by Christchurch's Nick Prebble and Willis Feasey, from Twizel.

"I am pleased that my skiing is heading in the right direction and that I can continue to represent New Zealand on the national team," Barwood, who placed 25th in the slalom and 44th in the giant slalom at the Winter Olympics in February, said.

Prebble is targeting the ANC Cup series being staged at Mt Hotham in Australia and New Zealand's Coronet Peak and Mt Hutt, along with the world championships in Beaver Creek, US, in February.

The adaptive snowsports national team includes Sochi Paralympics sit ski giant slalom silver medallist Corey Peters, Adam Hall and Carl Murphy.

Peters also placed fourth in the Super-Combined and sixth in Super-G in Sochi.

"I'm excited and hungry to build for the 2018 Winter Paralympics in PyeongChang, Korea. My personal goals and expectations of myself have been set and now it's about working hard to make them into reality."

Murphy placed fourth as snowboard cross made its debut at the Paralympics.

Hall, who won Paralympic gold in Vancouver in 2010, will be representing New Zealand for a ninth season.

"Having the opportunity to represent New Zealand is something which means a lot to me. Performing out of our skin and winning medals is what it is all about at this level," he said.

"Next season I have the 2015 world champs, where I am working hard to have strong performances across multiple events and continue to stay at the top of my game across the world cup circuit."


NZ alpine team: Adam Barwood (Queenstown), Nick Prebble (Christchurch), Willis Feasey (Twizel)
Alpine development team: Piera Hudson (Hawke's Bay/Wanaka), Tai Juneau (Oakura)
Skier cross national team: Jamie Prebble (Christchurch)
Adaptive snowsports team: Adam Hall (Wanaka), Corey Peters (New Plymouth), Carl Murphy (Wanaka)


The Southland Times