The country's top colourists

Two of the Supreme Award finalists.
Two of the Supreme Award finalists.
Two of the Young Colourist finalists.
Two of the Young Colourist finalists.
Two of the Salon Of The Year finalists.
Two of the Salon Of The Year finalists.
Two of the Men's Image finalists.
Two of the Men's Image finalists.

The finalists for one of our hairdressing industry's biggest events, the L'oreal 2014 Colour Trophy Awards, have been announced. 

Almost 300 stylists entered the competition, which rewards hair craftsmanship, colour technique, innovation and trend-setting, taking inspiration from catwalks around the globe.

Entrants submit photos of their model, and while the emphasis is always on hair colour, judges look for an overall fashion concept that combines colour, cut, style, make-up, fashion and photography.

The 20 finalists will go on to compete live at Auckland's Vector Arena for the main event next February. At the grand final, stylists will recreate their entry photos live on stage in front of the New Zealand hairdressing industry.

To ensure complete fairness and objectivity in judging, entry photos are anonymous. (We know the 20 finalists' names, but not whose photo represents whose entry.)

The 20 finalists were selected from hundreds of photographic entries and narrowed down by top Australian hairdressing stylists Caterina Di Biase, Brad Ngata and Damien Rinaldo. 

The awards are is made up of four major titles, including the supreme award of NZ Hairdresser of the Year.

The 2014 finalists are ... 

The Supreme Award - NZ Hairdresser of the Year

Brad Lepper - French Revolver Studio, Auckland

Helen Afu - Rodney Wayne Sylvia Park, Auckland

Jan Waite - Jan Waite Hairdressing, Auckland

Jock Robson - Dharma, Auckland

Michael Beel - Buoy Hairdressing, Wellington

Natasha Dawson - Rodney Wayne Botany, Auckland

Rebecca Brent - Willis York, Wellington

Stefan Van Der Merwe - Rodney Wayne Queensgate, Wellington

The Young Colourist Award

Dawn Thomson - Rodney Wayne, Whangarei

Emily Bryson - Rodney Wayne Cuba Mall, Wellington

Samantha Bell - Jomp Hair Design, Wellington

Valeria Lenskaia - Bettjemans, Auckland

The Men's Image Award

Guy Roberts - Vada, Auckland

Penelope Davies - Adoux Hair, Tauranga

Sara Carswell - Blaze, Auckland

Tony Elwin - Durham Hair, Auckland

The Salon of the Year Award

Bettjemans, Auckland

Blaze, Auckland

Rodney Wayne Pakuranga, Auckland

Venom, Invercargill

Check out the competition's Facebook page to see images of all of the finalists. 

Fairfax Media