BOT marks new era for school

Tuatapere's Waiau Area School has named its first board of trustees in almost two years.

The parent-elected representatives for Waiau Area School board are Wendy Adams, Dale Egerton, Ricki Egerton, David McCallum and Karl Tamou.

Previous trustees resigned, along with the principal, in September 2012, on the back of an Education Review Office report highlighting issues with the school's curriculum design, teaching and assessment.

The school has been under the governance of school commissioner Chris Shaw, who was to step down at a meeting last night.

"The new board takes office today and I go out of office today," Shaw said yesterday.

Waiau Area School is the only school in Tuatapere, catering for year 1 to 13 pupils.

The Southland Times