Top award for brigade boys

20:52, Dec 03 2012
Boys' Brigade
HIGHEST HONOUR: Boys’ Brigade members Aaron Miller, Tyson Adams, Stevie Perry, Bevan Hartley and Ian McDowall were awarded the 2011-12 Queen’s Award by Governor-General Hon Sir Jerry Mateparae in Wellington at the weekend.

Five young Southlanders were awarded the Queen's Award Certificate for their service to the Boys' Brigade New Zealand in Wellington at the weekend.

The Queen's Award is the organisation's most prestigious award and was presented to members of the Invercargill, Riverton and Waikoikoi brigades at Government House.

Boys' Brigade Southland president David Gray said Southland had a higher representation than other parts of the country because they were passionate. They are all "pretty high achievers" and most go on to further study after getting the award, Mr Gray said.

Children usually started working towards their Queen's Award at about age 11.

Blue Mountain College principal Lindy Cavanagh-Monaghan said it was "utterly amazing" to have two students from her school recognised for their hard work at such a prestigious event.


The Southland Times