Awards for boys in blues

04:01, Dec 06 2012
Southland Times photo
District Commander Superintendent Robert Burns presents an award to Southland Area Commander Inspector Lane Todd.

District Commander Superintendent Robert Burns is in Invercargill today for an awards ceremony.

The Southland Area Police Award ceremony was held at the Invercargill Working Men's Club this afternoon.

Mr Burns presented a plaque to Southland Area Commander Inspector Lane Todd for the Southland Police for its handling of the Easy Rider sinking.

Mr Burns said southern police did a fantastic job and punched well above its weight during the Easy Rider tragedy, which was the worst maritime disaster in New Zealand history since the Wahine in 1968.

The Easy Rider capsized off Stewart Island in March, killing eight of the nine on board. 

The bodies of Shane Topi, 29, Boe Pikia-Gillies, 28, John Karetai, 58, and Peter Pekamu-Bloxham, 53, were found, but those of skipper Rewai Karetai, 47, Paul Fowler- Karetai, 40, David Fowler, 50, and Odin Karetai, 7, were not.

Crew member Dallas Reedy was the sole survivor.


14 year long service and good conduct: Senior Constable Gregory Ballantyne, Senior Constable Justine Bishop, Senior Constable Peter Crepin, Senior Constable Malcolm Darlison, Senior Constable Jordan Edwards, Senior Constable James Mangos, Detective Constable Mason Middlemass, Senior Constable Matthew Owen-Eales, Senior Constable Kelvin Templeton and Senior Constable Mark Wishart.
21 year clasp: Sergeant Craig Cox, Sergeant Grant Gerken, Sergeant Tod Hollebon, Senior Constable Michael Hore, Sergeant Rob Mills and Senior Constable Anthony Vincent.
28 year clasp: Detective Senior Sergeant Brian Cowie.
Certificate of Appreciation NZ Combined Law Agency Group
35 year clasp: Senior Sergeant Ken Devery, Senior Constable Peter Lieshout and Detective Sergeant Ian McCambridge.
42 year clasp: Sergeant John De Lury.
New Zealand Police Commissioner's Commendation: Senior Constable Chris Haines.
New Zealand Police Certificate of Appreciation: Christopher Bode, James Grieve and Samuel Powell.
Christchurch earthquake ribbons: Senior Constable John Bailey, Constable David Barclay, Constable Jon Bisset, Senior Constable Daniel Bode, Constable Reuben Boniface, Constable Christopher Boulton, Constable Michael Calvert, Constable David Cowie, Sergeant Craig Cox, Constable Peter Crepin, Constable Blair Dalton, Sergeant Brock Davis, Sergeant John De Lury, Sergeant Peter Graham, Constable Alun Griffiths, Senior Constable Christopher Haines, Constable Christopher Hickey, Constable Anthony Hogan, Senior Constable Michael Hore, Constable Alan Johnston, Constable Darren Kidd, Constable Graeme King, Senior Constable David Loader, Sergeant Ian Martin, Sergeant Glen McMurdo, Senior Sergeant Richard McPhail, Sergeant Robert Mills, Constable Royden Muirhead, Senior Constable Matthew Owen-Eales, Senior Constable Kenneth Patterson, Senior Sergeant John Pine, Inspector Lane Todd, Senior Constable Paul Ware, Constable Adelle Williams, Constable Nathan Wootten and Senior Constable Heather Wyllie.


The Southland Times