Top students win awards

01:13, Dec 20 2012
Winners Pioneers Women's Memorial Trust certificate: Alice Millar – St Peter's College, Caroline Morton – Gore High School, Amy Sim – Blue Mountain College Eastern Southland Women's Institute/Dr Victor Harris award: Rachel Corlett – Blue Mountain College Gore and Districts Memorial RSA/Dr Victor Harris awards: Kelly Whitten – Gore High School, Rachel Taylor – Menzies College Dr Victor Harris Memorial Trust Scholarships: Ellie-May Jarvis – Blue Mountain College, Tessa Black – Gore High School, Jacqueline Syme – Menzies College.

Eastern Southland has a proud history of strong women and that legacy continues today, Pioneer Women's Memorial Trust chair Beverley Mouat told this year's scholarship ceremony.

Nine young women from high schools around the district were awarded bursary scholarships at the Pioneer Women's and Victor Harris Memorial Trust awards presentation at the James Cumming Wing in Gore last Thursday.

Competition for the awards was tough, with 28 young women applying for the Victor Harris awards alone.

Six were awarded.

All recipients are heading on to tertiary education in 2013, among them an aspiring fashion designer, television journalist, paediatrician, pharmacist and lawyer.

Deputy mayor Cliff Bolger presented the winners with certificates and wished them well in their respective career paths.