Chance for Southland teens to boost their cause

19:55, May 14 2014

A Southland under-19 training squad has been selected to prepare for the first national under-19 tournament in Taupo from September 27 to October 4.

The New Zealand Rugby Union has introduced the tournament to help with New Zealand under-20 selection and to also assist with the drop off in players when they leave school, which the NZRU has highlighted as an area of concern.

The competition will feature 16 teams, with each of the 14 top-tier provincial unions having a team. The other two teams will be an extra Auckland side and a team made up of players from Heartland unions.

The 16 teams will be split into four pools of four teams, who will play each other before the competition in Taupo.

Southland will be part of a pool that includes Otago, Canterbury and Tasman.

Training starts on Monday with players to meet at 6pm at the Supporters Club at Rugby Park in Invercargill.


Caleb Dick, Kieran Lloyd, Nicholas Corbin, Sam Hyde, Gareth Farhaig, Conner Bisset, Jordan Stewart, Stuart Smith, Bill Fukofuka, Hayden Ross, Connor Morrison, Mathew Collins, Sam Stewart, Isaac Wairau, William Pears, Logan Nicholson, Joshua Reedy, Jaye Thompson, Jacob Brown, Mike Molloy, Mathew Hunt, Adam Shaw, Fergus Allison, Materau Tupou, Daniel Bastiaansen, Matt Brame, Kane Prentise, Jack Lyders, Todd McNeilly, Vaughn McKay, Jackson Thomson, Braydem McStay, Aaron Sinclair, Jack Dillon, Hadley McLeod, Bailey Dow, Dom Collins, Jesse Gush, Ben Keenan, Harley Biddle, Cameron Finnie, Rory Patterson, Cole Williams, Jethro Falemi, Wliiam Phipps, Jake Moreton, Dion McGuigan, Iizaiah Goulding, Kieran Tipu, Ray Phillips, Ryan Sharp, Sebastian Little, Sam Parker


The Southland Times