Bluff sink to second loss since big win

21:19, Jun 15 2014

It seems Bluff are suffering a hangover and they are struggling it shake it off.

Bluff put their names in lights through the first seven games of Southland's division one rugby competition when they won all of them to latch onto the favourites tag in the race for the 2014 title.

Thier seventh straight victory came in a top-of-the-table clash against Wyndham at Bluff.

The fixture had a a lot more attached to it than just a top-of-the-table clash, however, it coincided with Bluff's 125th celebrations as the focus went on the port town and its impressive history in the sport of rugby.

The Jason Harrison-coached team poured plenty into the occasion as they grabbed a memorable 33-11 win.

However, it seems the celebrations have taken a bit out of the Bluff team, because they have followed up that historic victory with a 34-13 loss to Waikaka, and then on Saturday a 25-11 loss to Te Anau in Bluff.


The two losses means Bluff has slipped from outright leaders to fourth in the competition standings.

Te Anau, Edendale and Wyndham have all leap-frogged them with wins in this week's games.

Edendale played Pioneer at the Gore Showgrounds on Thursday night and were comfortable 48-8 victors.

Wyndham's progression up the table was not however all that easy as Tokanui pushed them in their game at Tokanui on Saturday.

Tokanui led 3-nil at halftime before Wyndham managed to do enough in the second half to take th 17-11 win.

Three division one games on Saturday were decided by one or two points highlighting the closeness of the competition.

Mataura edged out Drummond-Limehills-Star 22-20, Riversdale beat Waikaka 15-14 and Mossburn grabbed a low-scoring 5-3 victory Ohai-Nightcaps in the game played at Nightcaps.

Waikiwi lined up against premier team Pirates-Old Boys in a cross-over game at Rugby Park on Thursday night and it was Pirates-Old Boys who run out comfortable 62-nil victors.

Mataura 22, Drummond-Limehills-Star 20; Edendale 48, Pioneer 8; Wyndham 17, Tokanui 11; Mossburn 5, Ohai-Nightcaps 3; Riversdale 15, Waikaka 14; Te Anau 25, Bluff 11; Pirates-Old Boys 62, Waikiwi 0 (cross-over).

The Southland Times