Louise Ayling wins top Southland award

22:51, Jul 08 2014
Louise Ayling
Rower Louise Ayling pictured during a ticker-tape parade in Invercargill in honour of the the Southlanders who competed at the 2012 Olympic Games.

Louise Ayling was named Southland's oarsperson of the year at the Southland Rowing Association awards evening held in Invercargill on Friday night.

The 2010 world lightweight single silver medallists retired from rowing in February but she prior to that she had made her mark to prompt her to be named Southland's top rower for the 2013-14 season.

Ayling finished eighth in the lightweight women's single at the world championships, won gold in the Holland Bekker event and picked up a gold and a silver medal at the New Zealand Championships.

The retirement also prompted one of Southland's most successful rowers and her family to donate a new trophy to the Southland Rowing Association, which was presented for the first time on Friday night.

The Louise Ayling Trophy is for Southland's best secondary school rower of the season and Dylan O'Conner was the first recipient.

Kristen Froude's impressive season saw her awarded the Legion of Rowers Trophy, which is for Southland's best junior rower.

Former nationally ranked rower Sarah Hamilton was honoured on Friday night for her tireless efforts for rowing with the Owen Nuttal Memorial Trophy, which is for the administrator of the year.

Other major award winners on Friday night were Joseph Findley, who won the Keith Helm Memorial Trophy, which is for the coach of the year.

The Waihopai Jubilee Trophy for the best Southland-based rower went to Jess Hayes, while the Wakatipu Club's under-19 team won the club crew of the year.


The Southland Times