Consistency keeps Liam MacDonald on top

22:56, Jul 23 2014
Liam MacDonald
TOP DRIVER: Invercargill driver Liam MacDonald won the Southland Sports Car Club championship at the club’s 2013-14 prizegiving.

Sixteen-year-old Liam MacDonald of Invercargill has won the Southland Sports Car Club Championship for the second year running.

He received the SSCC Club Champion's Trophy at the club's 2013/2014 prizegiving.

MacDonald was the youngest club champion when he won the title last year and he backed it up this year with consistency across the board, finishing runner-up in the club's Motorkhana and Clubsport Championship's and adding valuable points from his appearances in the Race Championship.

While it did not count toward the club championship, MacDonald also shone on the national scene this year, finishing eighth in the NZV8 Touring Car Championship TL Class despite contesting only three rounds. He was also selected to attend the Elite Motorsport Academy in Dunedin recently.

Runner-up behind MacDonald for the second year running was Cameron Morison of Invercargill.

Morison retained the SSCC Speed Trophy for the Sprint Championship and the Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy for the Clubsport Championship and this year added the Keith McFadzien Trophy for also winning the Motorkhana Championship. Morison also won the National Clubsport Championship, which was recognised in a special Outstanding Achievement presentation .

Ian Tulloch, of Gore, won the Noel McIntyre Trophy for the Race Championship and also won the Auto Centre Trophy for winning the 2501cc & over class.

Jamie Conroy won the Turntru Machining Trophy for winning the 0-1300cc class and also took an 'Outstanding Achievement' Award for winning both the New Zealand and South Island Formula Ford Championships.

Conroy also graduated top of the recent Elite Motorsport Academy in Dunedin.

Rhys Turner of Dunedin and Jeremy Dawson of Invercargill shared the Nebulite Windows & Doors 1301-1600cc class and Warren Kett of Invercargill the Arrow International 1601-2500cc class for the second year in a row.

Brian Scott, of Dunedin ,won the Erskine Flying Farewell Trophy.

Stephen Heffernan won the Harold Williams Memorial Trophy for winning the Sports & Racing Car Championship and Dave McKenzie took the Evolution Motorsport Trophy for the Sports & Racing Car Flying Farewell Championship for the second year in a row.

Invercargill's Kieran Roberts was the recipient of the Howard Kingsford-Smith Trophy for the Most Improved Driver of the 2013/2014 season and Ian Richardson of Invercargill took the Arrow International Trophy for the top Novice Driver of the Year. Rachael Beck of Invercargill won the SSCC Club Championship Ladies Trophy for the third year in a row.

The RB Munro Trophy Workers' Award went to Jo-Ellen O'Brien, who has been involved with a wide range of tasks within the club, including areas as diverse as clubsport, drifting and the first response team.

The Macks Panel & Paint Trophy for the Marshall Of The Year in 2014 went to Peter McMillan, a start/finish line flag marshall.

The Keith Douglas Memorial Trophy for Distinguished Service was awarded to Noel Atley, a past president of the club, who presided during a time when several exciting developments, such as the construction of the new state-of-the-art control tower, took place.

The Teretonga caretaker, Dave Holland, was also honoured with a presentation to mark his retirement after seventeen years on the job. Holland who will complete his duties at the end of July has helped transform the surrounds of Teretonga, winning praise from many on the presentation of the circuit for events.

Certificates of appreciation were given to Southland Tractors and Southland Honda, long-time supporters of Teretonga Park, while Les Costigan and the Invercargill Volunteer Fire Brigade were also recognised for their long-standing support and attendance at events on the circuit.


The Southland Times