Hamlin named champion at club prizegiving

Nick Hamlin, of Invercargill, was crowned the Southland Sports Car Club Champion for the 2011-12 season at the club's prizegiving at Teretonga Park recently.

Hamlin took the SSCC Club Champions Trophy for the second successive year after another successful season. Hamlin also won both the SSCC Speed Trophy for the club's sprint championship and the Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy for the Clubsport championship, as he had done last year. In addition, he clinched the Keith McFadzien Trophy for winning the Motorkhana Championship. He was also third in the 0-1300cc race championship class, his total points in all those disciplines allowing him to retain the club championship he first won last year.

Hamlin, the Southland branch manager for Arrow International, also received a certificate of appreciation, which was awarded to the company in recognition of its continued support of the club's volunteer workers. Arrow International supplies lunch vouchers for the volunteers on race days.

Robert Ralston, of Invercargill, and Errol Hewlett, of Gore, shared the runner-up award in the overall club championship.

Darryn Andrews, of Lincoln, was the race champion for the 2011-12 season, receiving the Noel McIntyre Drainage Trophy. He also won the Auto Centre Trophy for winning the 2501cc and over class in the race championship and finished runner-up in the Flying Farewell championship behind Ian Clapperton, of Dunedin, who won the Erskine Flying Farewell Trophy.

In the other racing classes, Ivan Harvey, of Invercargill, won the Arrow International Trophy for the 1601cc-2500cc class, Bradley Dawson the Nebulite Windows & Doors Trophy for the 1301-1600cc class, and Ian McKenzie the Turntru Machining Trophy for the 0-1300cc class.

Don Nelson won the Harold Williams Memorial Trophy for winning the sports and racing car championship, while Jamie Conroy took the Evolution Motorsport Trophy for the sports and racing car flying farewell championship.

Rachael Beck secured two awards, the Howard Kingsford Smith Trophy for the most improved driver of the 2011-12 season and the SSCC Club Championship Ladies Trophy for winning the ladies' championship.

Glenn Johnston, of Gore, won the Arrow International Trophy for the top novice driver of the year after an impressive debut season, while Joseph Oliver won the Ladies Committee Trophy for the junior driver of the year.

The RB Munro Trophy went to Anne Rosel and Hilary Atley, recognising their hard work running Teretonga Tasties, the club's popular infield catering operation.

The Macks Panel & Paint Trophy for the marshall of the year was awarded to Arthur Lewis, a flag marshall for many years and a willing helper whenever required by the club.

The Keith Douglas Memorial Trophy went to Richard McMillan after 40 years of flag-marshalling experience. McMillan has been the chief flag marshall since 2006 and serves on the Teretonga race committee.

Meanwhile, Anthony Ralston won the Hedges Challenge Trophy, awarded to a young achiever resident in Southland or Otago maintaining the breed of yesteryear. Anthony is involved in most aspects of motor racing and also serves as a volunteer when available.

Achievements on the national stage were also acknowledged after a very successful season for Southland Sports Car Club competitors. Damon Leitch finished third in the Toyota Racing Series as well as taking the round win at Teretonga. His younger brother Brendon claimed third in the National Formula Ford Championship, while Winton's Brendon Mitchell was third overall in the NZ Clubsport championships held in Invercargill in March.

Teretonga race committee chairman Bevan Gerrard also made a presentation to Kevin Thomson, of Mataura, who for many years has provided the club with photographs of their events.

Acknowledgement was also made on the night of the Invercargill Licensing Trust Foundation and the Community Trust of Southland for their continued support of the club and in particular the huge contribution made to the new control tower complex, which is the envy of the rest of New Zealand.

The Southland Times