Favourite held to second in memorial trophy race

19:16, Nov 12 2012

Christchurch's Dale Finch held off pre-meet favourite Grant Tregoning in a frantic solos final at Oreti Park Speedway on Saturday night to win the Brian Reed Memorial Trophy.

Finch got the better start in the four-lap decider, but on the last lap, the Oreti Park-contracted Tregoning looked to have made up ground on his rival.

The two riders duelled over the closing stages of the race, with Finch managing to pip Tregoning to the finish line by a wheel length.

Anthony Knowles finished third overall, with Paul Hayes fourth, and Connor Spriggs fifth.

There was also something of a surprise in the sidecars, where Jason Harpur and Mark George emerged as winners in the top-five final, from second-placed Luke Thwaites and Neville Chalmers, with Daniel Harpur and Matt Heenan in third place.

The pairings of Dallas Kelman and Chris Leeden, and Jamie Pocklington and Chris McDonald did not finish the final.

In the supporting classes on the night, other winners included Kahurangi Tanirau (250cc solo), Zane Pay (junior solo), Hayden Brookland (peewees), Daniel Miller (solo support) and Pete Stenning (classic solo). Saturday night's racing was the first meet of the season at Oreti Park Speedway.

It was well supported, with about 1500 people in attendance.

The next event at Oreti Park will be the Burt Munro Challenge Speedway Spectacular, which will be held on Saturday, November 24.


The Southland Times