OSCA Super Saloons a highlight at Teretonga

Many of the best South Island motor racing classes were at Teretonga Park, near Invercargill, on Sunday for a full day of motorsport.

The event, presented by Downer, featured seven classes.

One of the highlights for many spectators was the appearance of several OSCA Super Saloons, which raced alongside the local Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans Saloon field.

Christchurch driver Russell Mortimer won the opening race in his Nissan 180SX from former OSCA champion Colin Dawson, of Invercargill, in his V8-powered Mazda RX7, before the order was reversed in the second.

Mortimer also won the third race - in the 2501cc and over class - from Dawson. Neither started the Flying Farewell, which was won by Darryn Andrews, of Lincoln, in his Nissan Primera, from debutant Liam MacDonald, of Invercargill, in an ex-NZV8 Falcon.

The South Island Formula Ford class held four races, the first taking place in rain on Saturday. That resulted in a comfortable win to James Munro, of Christchurch, in a Mygale, from fellow Cantabrian Michael Collins.

Munro failed to finish the first race on Sunday, with victory going to Te Puke driver Michael Scott - the runner-up in last year's National Formula Ford Championship. Munro won the final two races, the first from Scott, with Collins third. The two placegetters were in reverse order in the final race.

The Honda Cup was a popular new class. Gore drivers did well, with Dave McLean winning the first two races, the first from fellow Gore driver Greg Elder and the second from yet another Gore driver, Glenn Johnston.

Mark Meadows, of Christchurch, won the finale from Jeff Vincent, of Invercargill, and Rhys Turner, of Dunedin.

Invercargill driver Damon Leitch took a clean sweep of all four sports and racing car events as he prepares for another campaign in this summer's international Toyota Racing Series.

Don Nelson, of Riverton, and Dave McKenzie, of Invercargill, were also prominent throughout the day. Grant Kugener, of Wakefield, near Nelson, was the fastest of the Mini 7 South cars throughout the day, with Doug Erskine, of Tuatapere, the quickest of the bigger-engined Minis.

Dave McLean, of Gore, and Jeremy Dawson, of Invercargill, shared the wins in the Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans Class B races, while Dawson also added the 1301-1600cc class win. Warren Kett, of Invercargill, won the 1601-2500cc class in his Mazda RX7, and Walter Willmott, also of Invercargill, the 0-1300cc class.

Unfortunately, the Pre-65 Saloons had small fields, with Dunedin driver Roy McDonald winning all three races in his Ford Mustang.

The focus now turns to the Premier Summer Series meeting during the weekend of January 12 and 13, featuring the return of the Super Trucks, NZV8s, Toyota Racing Series, Formula Ford, Sports GT and Production GT.


(At Teretonga Park) January 11-13: Super Trucks, NZV8s, Toyota Racing Series; Formula Ford, Sports GT & Production GT. February 15-17: Evolution Motorsport Classic SpeedFest featuring Classic Saloons, Historic Touring Cars, Vintage Car Club, Sports & Racing Cars, South Island Pre-65 Saloons, Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans Saloons & Formula 5000 – to be confirmed. March 17: Motor racing presented by Downer – Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans Saloons, Sports & Racing Cars, NZ Six Saloons, Pro 7 Saloons, A1 Autos One Hour Race. 

The Southland Times