Auckland duo chase NZ speedway title

20:27, Dec 05 2012

Two Auckland riders will be the ones to beat at the New Zealand under-21 solos championship at Oreti Park Speedway on Saturday night.

Reigning New Zealand champion Sean Mason and former winner Dylan Hancock are in the field.

Oreti Park Speedway president Warren Shuttleworth said the Auckland pair would start as favourites for the silverware.

Several Auckland riders are heading south for the championship, including Ryan Terry-Daley, Billy Graham and Chopper Bagshaw.

The Aucklanders train with seven-time New Zealand champion Jason Bunyan, who competed in this year's World Speedway Grand Prix at Western Springs Stadium.

Other contenders include Christchurch rider Anthony Knowles and Cory Lang, of Greymouth.


It will be interesting to see how Invercargill rider Hayden Sims performs after racing in the Queensland Championships. Other Southlanders hoping to impress on their home track include Jack MacRae, Jeremy Godfrey, Daniel Shuttleworth and Connor Spriggs.

Supporting classes on the night will include the A-grade solos, classic solos, junior grades and sidecars.

Saturday night's racing will be the last meet at Oreti Park Speedway for 2012. The season will resume at the track on January 19 with the New Year's Pairs meet.

Last month, an air-fence crash barrier was installed at the track, thanks to the efforts of Auckland-based speedway enthusiast and entrepreneur Bill Buckley, and former Oreti Park president Fraser Gillespie.

Oreti Park Speedway will share the air fence with Western Springs Stadium in Auckland. 

The Southland Times