Southland squads for nationals formidable

18:57, Dec 12 2012

Cycling Southland has named strong elite and under-19 squads as it looks to defend the Points Shield, which it has won for the past five years. Invercargill will host the elite and under-19 national championships from January 31 to February 3 and the national age-group championships from February 26 to March 2.


Under-19 team – Coaches: Julian Ineson, Sier Vermunt. Under-19 women: 500m – Libby Bayne, Laura Heywood, Sophie McMurdo. Team sprint – Bayne, Jen Muhl. Sprint – Bayne. Keirin – Bayne, Muhl. 250m - Bayne, Muhl. Points race – Heywood, Muhl, Georgia Vessey. Scratch race – Heywood, Muhl, McMurdo, Vessey. Individual pursuit – Heywood, McMurdo, Muhl, Vessey. Under-19 men: Team sprint – Jeremy Presbury, Michael Culling, Josh Haggerty, Josh van den Arend, Anton O'Connell, Joe Archer, Nick Kergozou. Keirin – Presbury, van den Arend, O'Connell, Archer, Kergozou. Sprint - Presbury, van den Arend, O'Connell, Archer. Standing lap – Presbury, van den Arend, O'Connell, Archer, Haggerty, Michael Culling, Kergozou. Kilo – Presbury, Culling, Haggerty, Kergozou. Individual pursuit - Haggerty, Culling, Kergozou, Liam Aitcheson. Points race – Aitcheson, Haggerty, Culling, Kergozou (reserve). Scratch race – Aitcheson, Haggerty, Culling, Kergozou. Elite team – Coaches Matt Randall (women), Ross Machejefski (men), Stu MacDonald (sprinters). Elite women: 500m – Natasha Hansen, Steph McKenzie, Aimee Burns. Keirin – Hansen, McKenzie, Seqouia Cooper. Sprint – Hansen, McKenzie. Team sprint – Hansen, McKenzie. Standing lap – Hansen, McKenzie. Individual pursuit – Kylie Young, Burns, Cooper, Laura Fairweather. Points – Young, Cooper, Sophie Williamson, Burns (reserve), Fairweather (reserve). Scratch race – Burns, Cooper, Fairweather, Williamson, Young (reserve). Open team pursuit – Young, Burns, Cooper, Fairweather, Williamson, Heywood, Muhl. Elite men: Sprint – Eddie Dawkins, Matt Archibald, Tom Beadle, Karl Watson, Matt Dodds, Lee Evans. Team sprint – Dawkins, Archibald, Beadle, Dodds, Evans. Standing lap – Dawkins, Archibald, Beadle, Watson, Dodds, Evans. Kilo – Dawkins, Cam Karwowski, Dodds, Beadle. Keirin – Dawkins, Archibald, Beadle, Watson, Dodds, Evans. Individual pursuit – Piet Bulling, Karwowski, Brad Tuhi. Scratch race – Bulling, Karwowski, Dillon Bennett, Tuhi. Open madison – Bulling, Karwowski, Bennett, Tuhi, Haggerty, Culling, Aitcheson. Open team pursuit – Karwowski, Bulling, Haggerty, Aitcheson, Tuhi, Bennett, Matt Zenovich, Culling, Kergozou.


The Southland Times