Parry faces world's best darts players

19:58, Aug 21 2013
Warren Parry
Invercargill darts player Warren Parry.

Invercargill darts player Warren Parry will take on the sport's best on live television at the Sydney Darts Masters next week.

Sky Sport will have live coverage of the event, which includes the top eight players from the Professional Darts Corporation, including Phil "The Power" Taylor, Michael van Gerwen and Simon "The Wizard" Whitlock.

Parry, the sole New Zealand representative in the 16-man competition, qualified after winning the New Zealand Charter Clubs title in Upper Hutt last month.

With three Australian qualifiers still to be found, Parry doesn't know which of the top eight players he will meet in the first round.

"It doesn't really matter which one you get, they are all pretty good," he said.

Parry has previously competed in the white-hot atmosphere which surrounds professional darts in England, lining up against Dutch professional and former world number one Raymond van Barneveld, who has his own vocal supporters known as the Barney Army.


"When you go over to England, the crowds are just so big," Parry said.

"The last time I went over there I played Raymond van Barneveld and you hear them chanting Barney Army before we even went down to the stage."

Despite their high profile status, the top professionals were entirely approachable, Parry said.

The 49-year-old leaves for Australia tomorrow and hopes some extra practice will pay dividends.

"I've been practising doubles a bit, putting a bit more training into it."

Invercargill's Dale Frampton will manage New Zealand men's, women's and youth teams to Australia to compete in qualifying tournaments around the Sydney Masters.

The well-known darts administrator will also be working on a pet project of his which involves bringing a PDC tournament to New Zealand.

His dream is to fly the best players directly from Australia to Queenstown and then have them playing in a sold-out Stadium Southland.


First round, August 29. Sky Sport 4, 9pm, best of 11 legs. Quarterfinals, August 30. Top eight knockout stages, best of 15 legs. Semifinals and final, August 31. Top four knockout stages, best of 19 legs. 

The Southland Times