Baynes wins the Burt

Baynes takes on Feaver

Last updated 20:59 29/11/2013
Greg Baynes
WINNER: Greg Baynes

Relevant offers

Invercargill's Greg Baynes has won the Burt Munro Trophy race at Oreti Beach last night.

Baynes, who also took out the 50-mile signature race in 2008, finished ahead of rival Jason Feaver, of Christchurch, with Tuatapere's Lockie Lott third.

Feaver, who had won the race both times it has been contested since 2008, came off the worse when the two collided at the first corner but then fought his way back into contention.

After cutting Baynes' lead to 10sec, he stalled at the bottom mark midway through the race and was unable to make up the deficit.

Racing continues today with the Teretonga sprints and Oreti Park speedway events, before finishing tomorrow with the Wyndham Street Race.

Ad Feedback

- The Southland Times


Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content