Upset win at the speedway

08:52, Jan 18 2014

The Southland Outlaws have come back from 5-nil down to claim an Interprovincial Solos win over the Canterbury Comets at Oreti Park Speedway tonight.

The Outlaw Solo team seemed destined to finish the Interprovincial Solos in last place without claiming a win in the series, and with five heats to go the Canterbury Comets had a convincing five point lead.

Grant Tregoning and his Southland team of Jeremy Godfrey, Paul Hayes, Jack McRae and Hayden Sims were not about to give up lightly.

It was McRae and Godfrey that turned things around for Southland.

They had a heat that earnt them maximum points with a first and a second, this bought the scores level, but the same pairing couldn't repeat the dose in the next heat, allowing Canterbury to edge ahead with two races still to run.

Tregoning and Hayes then managed maximum points for Southland to once again bring the scores level and meant whatever team won the final, won the Interprovincial match.


For Southland it was Tregoning and Sims left to face two former national champions, Andrew Aldridge and captain Dale Finch.

The race lasted as long as the first corner when Finch dropped his bike, making slight contact with Sims who went into the wall at high speed.

He was attended by St John Ambulance officers and taken to Southland Hospital.

After a restart Finch got the best start of the two and managed to hold the lead right up to the last lap when Tregoning took a dive to take the lead.

As the pair raced handlebar to handlebar down the home straight they clipped, causing Finch to fall extremely hard and hand the win to Tregoning and the Southland Outlaws.

In the Southland Sidecar Championships it was Kevin McDonald and Karl Hosie who made up for their startline infringement last weekend, to dominate the night.

The pair won all four heats, and after a restart in the final they claimed themselves a very hard fought Southland Championship.

Second place went to a deserving Scott Ayto and Dylan Carnie.

The pair won three of the four heats and held off last weekend's Peter Blick Memorial winners Bradley Sharp and Neville Chalmers, who only made the final by winning the repecharge.

Last year's champions Lionel Green and Shane Breach, of Christchurch, failed to even make the repecharge with a number of local pairings hitting form just a few weeks out from the New Zealand Sidecar Championships in Christchurch.

It was also Southland Championships night at The Russell Cunningham Properties Oreti Park Speedway for Pee Wees and Juniors and there was some exciting racing across all these grades.

In the Pee Wees, Hayden Brookland was expected to win and the youngster didn't disapoint, winning every heat and his final, second and third was alot closer with Caleb Whalley of Christchurch just holding out Cormac Buchanan.

In 125cc solos Southland's Sam Taylor won the first heat but a big spill in the second put him out of the running, and out for the night.

Storm LeQuesne took the Southland title, followed by Ben Whalley in second, Taylor was third.

It was an all Christchurch affair in the 200cc solos, the trio battled it out wheel to wheel all night but Tom Harvey took the spoils of victory from George Congrieve and George Harvey.

In support classes Zane Pay won 250cc solos, John Tuffley solo support and Les Payne classic solos.

The club does it all over again next Saturday night when they host the Southland Solo Championships.

The Southland Times