New-look Highlanders team

02:14, Jan 28 2014

The Highlanders will trial a new-look team in a pre-season game against the Brumbies in Queenstown on Friday night.

Seven of the starting XV will be pulling on the Highlanders jersey for the first time - Craig Millar, Gareth Evans, Lee Allan, Tom Franklin, Richard Buckman, Winston Stanley and Patrick Osborne.

Kane Hames, Ged Robinson, Malakai Fekitoa and Argentinian international Matias Diaz are likely to make their debuts for the franchise off the bench.

Stanley has previously played Super Rugby for the Western Force, while Buckman and Osborne have played for the Hurricanes and Chiefs, respectively.

Nasi Manu, Shane Christie, Willie Ripia and Brayden Mitchell were unavailable because of injury. The game will be played as four 20 minute quarters.

Highlanders: Trent Renata, Patrick Osborne, Wintson Stanley, Shaun Treeby, Richard Buckman, Hayden Parker, Frae Wilson, Elliot Dixon, Lee Allan, Gareth Evans, Tom Franklin, Jarrad Hoeata, Ma'afu Fia, Liam Coltman (captain), Craig Millar.


The Southland Times