Lifetime achievement for Sycamore

21:51, Feb 13 2014
Graham Sycamore
Lion Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Graham Sycamore, of Invercargill.

Graham Sycamore has been recognised with a lifetime achievement award for his services to cycling.

The award was given out as part of the Halberg Awards ceremony in Auckland last night. 

Sycamore has been involved in cycling as a competitor, administration and official, having adjudicated at six world championships, seven Commonwealth Games and three Olympic Games. 

However, it was teenage golfer Lydia Ko and the All Blacks dominated the Halberg Awards in Auckland last night.

Sixteen-year-old Ko, who was missing from the ceremony because she was competing in the Australian Open, was crowned sportswoman of the year and took the overall award ahead of finalists Scott Dixon, Sophie Pascoe and the All Blacks.

The judging academy of 30 panellists deemed Ko sportswoman of the year ahead of shot putter Valerie Adams, kayaker Lisa Carrington and swimmer Lauren Boyle. This was the first time since 2005 that Adams, who was unbeaten all season on the international athletics circuit and made history by becoming the first female athlete to win four world championship titles, has not won top female honours at the Halbergs.


Ko, who achieved a runner-up finish in a major championship last year and won three professional events, received news of her success via video link from Melbourne.

Elsewhere, it was also a big night for the All Blacks. Capping a perfect 2013 - they were the first team in the professional era of rugby to win every game in a season - the men in black walked away with team of the year honours, while Steve Hansen won coach of the year and captain Richie McCaw was honoured with a leadership award.

Sportsman of the year finalist Kieran Read was beaten to the gong by motor racing driver Dixon.

Dixon, who was IndyCar champion for a third time in his career last year, got the nod ahead of Read, world No 1 eventing champion Andrew Nicholson and track cycling world champion Aaron Gate.

Paralympic swimmer Pascoe was again named disabled sportsperson of the year, after securing five gold medals at the IPC world championships. The other finalists were fellow swimming world champion Mary Fisher, blind bowling world champion David Monk and shooting world record holder Mike Johnson.

Fourteen-year-old swimmer Gabrielle Fa'amausili received the emerging talent award - which comes with a $10,000 scholarship - ahead of surfer Ella Williams, rower Tom Murray and motorcyclist Jake Lewis.

During the awards ceremony at Vector Arena, former All Black Jonah Lomu and Olympic champion cyclist Sarah Ulmer were also inducted into the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame. 


The Southland Times