Brendon McCullum breaks NZ record

Last updated 12:00 18/02/2014
Brendon McCullum
Andrew Cornaga/
MCCULLUM BRILLIANCE: Brendon McCullum has become the first New Zealander to score a test match triple century.
McCullum the man
McCullum becomes the first New Zealander to score a Test Match triple century.

Related Links

Live scoring: NZ v India McCullum the man Black Caps v India second test Was McCullum's 302 the ultimate innings? Indian media full of praise for Brendon McCullum Crowe to McCullum: 'Keep calm and carry on' Brendon McCullum heroics deny India at Basin Captain Brendon McCullum leads by example

Relevant offers

Brendon McCullum has become the first New Zealander to score a test match triple century.

The Black Caps skipper passed the milestone at the Basin Reserve in Wellington today, surpassing Martin Crowe's score of 299 at the same venue in 1991 as the highest individual score by a New Zealand cricketer.

He went after a wide ball from paceman Zaheer Khan and chopped it to the third man boundary to reach the record mark.

McCullum is the 28th man to reach 300 in test cricket history and only the second to do so in the second innings of a test, the first being Pakistan's Hanif Mohammad all the way back in 1958.

He joins cricketing greats such as Brian Lara, Don Bradman and Gary Sobers in the 300-club.

McCullum's innings ended just two balls later, edging Khan to Indian skipper MS Dhoni for a regular catch behind the stumps.

Tim Southee then joined debut centurian Jimmy Neesham at the crease as the Black Caps try and secure a series victory.

Top ten scores of all time:

1. Brian Lara (West Indies): 400 vs England at Antigua in 2004

2. Matthew Hayden (Australia): 380 vs Zimbabwe at Perth in 2003

3. Brian Lara (West Indies): 375 vs England at Antigua in 1994

4. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka): 374 vs South Africa at Colombo in 2006

5. Gary Sobers (West Indies): 365 vs Pakistan at Jamaica in 1958

6. Len Hutton (England): 364 vs Australia at The Oval in 1938

7. Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka): 340 vs India at Colombo in 1997

8. Hanif Mohammad (Pakistan): 337 vs West Indies at Bridgetown in 1958

9. Wally Hammond (England): 336 vs New Zealand at Auckland in 1933

Ad Feedback

- Fairfax Media


Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content