Waihopai crews bring silver at champs

Silver was the predominant colour of medals earned by Waihopai rowers on day two of the finals at the national championships at Karapiro.

Louise Ayling competed in one of the feature races of the regatta, the women's premier lightweight single. She was second behind Southern RPC rower Lucy Strack, and ahead of former elite doubles partner, and fellow world record holder, Julia Edward.

Lisa Owen placed sixth.

Waihopai's senior men's pair of Scott Barnsdale and Mark O'Connor were second behind season-long foes Avon Rowing Club, from Christchurch, yesterday.

With cox Henry Mathews back in the boat, Wakatipu Rowing Club returned to their winning ways with a heat win in the men's under-19 coxed four.

Latham Jones, Reid Long, Willem van der Kaag and Daniel Halligan's time of 6.27.68 sees them go through to the final as fastest qualifier by 6 seconds.

The final will feature four Hamilton Boys' High School crews, rowing in Waikato Rowing Club colours.

Waihopai Rowing Club also qualified a crew in under-19 events. Olivia MacDonald and Georgia Yaxley will race the under-19 women's double final.

Tim Yaxley, of Waihopai, was first in the B final of the club men's single.

The premier men's double was no less of a spectacle this year, featuring five Olympic representatives in three boats.

Jade Uru and Southern RPC doubles partner John Storey were third, behind second placegetters Mahe Drysdale and Michael Arms and race winners Central's Robbie Manson and Karl Manson.

Uru has two bronze medals from this regatta and will hope the Southern RPC eight he is part of can get up for the gold in the last race today.

Unusually, Kristen Froude had to settle for second in her Southern RPC under-22 pair yesterday morning, taking silver behind Central RPC's combination.

The premier women's four later in the day was another silver-medal effort for Froude, along with Southern RPC crewmate Genevieve Behrent.

The Southern RPC women's four were beaten home by Central RPC's crew, made up of premier pair winner Rebecca Scown and under-22 pair winners Ruby Tew and Holly Greenslade.

Behrent and Froude will combine in the Southern RPC premier women's eight as they too try to win the elusive gold medal in the penultimate race today.

The Southland Times