Tokanui, Mataura to play in division one

21:40, Mar 20 2014

Tokanui and Mataura will play in a 13-team division one Southland club rugby competition this season after winning through in a playoff at Rugby Park on Wednesday night.

Collegiate, Mataura and Tokanui all wanted to join the existing 11 teams already entered into division one.

The Council of Rugby Clubs decided to hold a playoff to allow two of those teams to join division one, making it a 13-team competition.

Playing in shortened games on Wednesday night Tokanui beat Collegiate 6-3, Mataura beat Collegiate 14-3 and then Mataura beat Tokanui 17-3

Mataura did not have a team last season, but are back trying to rebuild and look like they will be a force in division one.

Collegiate will again play in the division two competition this season.


The premier, division one and division two grades will all kick-off on March 29 with the draws expected to be confirmed today.

Numbers are still being worked through for the division two competition but it is likely to be 12 teams.

Star and Central Pirates are both struggling for numbers and this week decided to combine for this season's division one competition.

Star president Brad South said it was difficult attracting players.

"It's a bit of a nightmare, to be honest. It's not just us, it's nationwide," South said.

Seven teams will again make up Southland's premier club competition – Woodlands, Star, Marist, Midlands, Blues, Pirates-Old Boys and Eastern-Northern Barbarians.

The Southland Times