Erwood named in squad

00:16, Apr 16 2014
Southland Times photo
South Otago netballer Abby Erwood.

South Otago High School's Abby Erwood has been named in a 16-strong New Zealand secondary schools netball squad.

The squad, from which 12 players and four non-travelling reserves will be chosen for the International Schoolgirls' Netball Challenge in Adelaide next month, was selected after three days of trials in Auckland last weekend.

Abby's twin sister Sophie was also a triallist.

Another three day trial at the end of this month will be held in Auckland for the final selection.

The team will be coached by Marianne Delaney.

Shooters Chiara Semple and Maia Wilson, and defender Holly Fowler return to the team from last year.

NZSS netball squad: Amorangi Malesala, Emma-May Murray-Fifita, Jessica Prosser, Chiara Semple, Maia Wilson, Charlotte Elley, Grace Kukutai, Mila Reuelu-Buchanan, Jessica Shaw, Alanis Toia-Tigafua, Popua Aleamotu'a, Kate Burley, Abby Erwood, Holly Fowler, Kelly Jury, Michaela Sokolich-Beatson.



The Southland Times