Vettori questions Bangladesh's tactics

Last updated 00:00 01/01/2009

Relevant offers

Relations between New Zealand and Bangladesh appear to have soured slightly.

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori had a dig at Bangladesh for pulling the pin too early in their mammoth run chase during yesterday's second one-day international, while Mohammad Ashraful was unimpressed with being given out after Ross Taylor claimed a catch at cover.

Bangladesh made a bright start in their chase for 336 but lost three quick wickets for five runs, including that of Ashraful, and the match meandered till rain ended the ordeal with Bangladesh 181-6 after 43 overs.

"There was probably a little bit of frustration about the style of play," Vettori said.

"We thought Bangladesh would chase a little bit harder - whenever you chasing 330 you have to take a few risks. If you don't you stall and that's what happened."

However, Bangladesh coach Jamie Siddons defended his team's approach, denying it was content to use the innings as batting practice.

"It was nothing like that at all," he said.

"We had a plan in mind [to conserve wickets for a final assault]. We were going along according to that plan and then we lost three for five. Plans change. We lost all our momentum, lost our biggest strokemakers to give ourselves any chance of making 335, which was virtually impossible from the start."

Ashraful's dismissal caused discontent in the Bangladesh camp. At 68-2, the dangerman drove Kyle Mills low to cover where Taylor claimed the catch. Ashraful stood his ground but was forced to leave after the umpires had conferred.

At first glance it appeared the catch was taken, though replays proved inconclusive.

"I felt that it was not out," Ashraful said, "but at the end of the day it was a decision by the umpires, so I do not have anything to say about it."

Vettori backed his player's honesty and the judgment of the umpires.

"You always take it incident by incident because if you make a general rule it's always hard, but you saw Ross' reactions and he left it in the umpires' hands.

"They made the call, and from what I've heard it was the right call."

 

Ad Feedback

- The Dominion Post

Special offers
Opinion poll

Should Sonny Bill Williams start boxing again?

Absolutely. He's a supreme athlete.

If he wants. Who am I to judge?

I'd prefer he focus on his rugby career.

It's outrageous. Someone should stop him!

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content