Olympians dominate Halberg Awards finalists

03:14, Jan 01 2013
Sophie Pascoe
AMONG THE FINALISTS: Sophie Pascoe, shown here with her spoils from London, is one of the finalists in the Halberg awards.

Successful Olympians and Paralympians are well-represented among the Halberg sporting award finalists announced tonight.

Contesting sportsman of the year are rowing’s Mahe Drysdale, eventing rider Andrew Nicholson, cycling’s Simon van Velthooven, and rugby’s Richie McCaw.

Canoeing champ Lisa Carrington, shot putter Valerie Adams, BMX rider Sarah Walker and amateur golf sensation Lydia Ko are finalists for sportswoman of the year.

The All Blacks, who took out team of the year in 2011, are among the contenders again, alongside two sailing and rowing teams.

Rowing coaches Calvin Ferguson and Richard Tonks and Olympic sailing coach Nathan Handley are finalists in the coach of the year category.

Para-swimming champions, Sophie Pascoe, Mary Fisher and Cameron Leslie are finalists in the disabled sportsperson of the year category, alongside cyclist Phillipa Grey.

The disabled sportsperson category was introduced in 2011 ‘’to recognise the achievements of disabled athletes competing on the world stage’’. The winner of the disabled sportsperson category is eligible for the highest accolade, the Halberg award.   

Award winners will be announced at a televised event on February 14.