New Zealand Cricket names domestic contracts

00:02, Jul 25 2014

Canterbury cricket will face the upcoming summer season with a vastly different looking side while Auckland benefits from the return of Rob Nicol in a number of changes announced with domestic contracts today.

New Zealand's six Major Associations today announced the players offered first round domestic contracts for the coming season.

The contracting process for domestic players involved two rounds, with each team to contract a total of 15 players overall.

The six associations could offer nine to 14 contracts at their discretion in the first round and then complete the process to their full contingent with second round contracts being offered on August 8.

On paper, the Canterbury side, who would this season be called the Kings rather than the Wizards, have undergone the most changes with a largely local flavour to the team.

Canterbury have lost batsmen Rob Nicol, Dean Brownlie, Brad Cachopa and George Worker, but have signed Neil Broom who returns to Christchurch after many years playing for the Volts. They have also given Peter Fulton a domestic contract after he missed out on a national contract.


For the Ace, the most significant signing was all-rounder Rob Nicol who returned home to Auckland after playing for Canterbury.

Brad Cachopa has also returned to the Aces from Canterbury and his brother Carl from the Stags while the third brother Craig Cachopa has left the Aces after signing with English county side Sussex for two years. Tarun Nethula also returned to the Aces from the Stags.

Notably for the Knights, they have secured the services of Dean Brownlie from Canterbury as well as signing Joe Carter, Mitchell Santner and Bharat Popli.

For the Volts, they have secured Tipene Friday from the Aces and Bradley Scott was offered a contact after returning to Dunedin from Northern Districts last August.

The Volts have lost Neil Broom to Canterbury and Ian Butler, who has retired.

Wellington has a largely unchanged team and fields experienced players Grant Elliott and Mark Gillespie as well as Jeetan Patel and Brent Arnel.

The Stags have put Doug Bracewell on to a domestic contract after he was not offered a national contract, they have lost Carl Cachopa to Auckland, but secured George Worker from Canterbury.


Dean Bartlett

Michael Bates

Brad Cachopa

Carl Cachopa

Colin De Grandhomme

Lockie Ferguson

Donovan Grobbelaar

Anaru Kitchen

Tarun Nethula

Rob Nicol

Robert O'Donnell

Matt Quinn

Jeet Raval


Todd Astle

Logan van Beek

Hamish Bennett

Neil Broom

Brendon Diamanti

Andrew Ellis

Cameron Fletcher

Peter Fulton

Roneel Hira

Kyle Jamieson

Tim Johnston

Ryan McCone

Henry Nicholls

Edward Nuttall


Doug Bracewell

Greg Hay

Jamie How

Marty Kain

Andrew Mathieson

Kieran Noema-Barnett

Ajaz Patel

Seth Rance

Bevan Small

Ben Smith

Kruger Van Wyk

Ben Wheeler

George Worker

Will Young


Graeme Aldridge

James Baker

Jonathan Boult

Dean Brownlie

Joseph Carter

Anton Devcich

Daniel Flynn

Jonathan Hickey

Scott Kuggeleijn

Daryl Mitchell  

Bharat Popli

Mitchell Santner

Anurag Verma

Brad Wilson


Nick Beard

Michael Bracewell

Derek de Boorder

Jacob Duffy

Ryan Duffy

Tipene Friday

James McMillan

Aaron Redmond

Iain Robertson

Brad Rodden

Hamish Rutherford

Jesse Ryder

Bradley Scott

Sam Wells


Brent Arnel

Tom Blundell

Grant Elliott

James Franklin

Mark Gillespie

Dane Hutchinson

Andrew McKay

Stephen Murdoch

Michael Papps

Jeetan Patel

Michael Pollard

Malaesili Tugaga

Henry Walsh

Luke Woodcock

BLACK CAPS -  contracted players for 2014-15

Corey Anderson - Northern Knights

Trent Boult - Northern Knights

Mark Craig - Otago Volts

Martin Guptill - Auckland Aces

Matt Henry - Canterbury

Tom Latham - Canterbury

Mitchell McClenaghan - Auckland Aces

Brendon McCullum - Otago Volts

Nathan McCullum - Otago Volts

Kyle Mills - Auckland Aces

Adam Milne - Central Stags

Colin Munro - Auckland Aces

Jimmy Neesham - Otago Volts

Luke Ronchi - Wellington Firebirds

Ish Sodhi - Northern Knights

Tim Southee - Northern Knights

Ross Taylor - Central Stags

Neil Wagner - Otago Volts

BJ Watling - Northern Knights

Kane Williamson - Northern Knights