ICC has no plans to stand down Bucknor

Last updated 00:00 01/01/2009

Relevant offers

Cricket

Black Caps series with Zimbabwe may not be screened in New Zealand Black Caps batsmen need to adjust expectations against Zimbabwe Vaughan: England must seek to wrap up Ashes series victory at Trent Bridge Jimmy Anderson injury leaves England selectors with conundrum for fourth test Brown: World-weary Australian captain Michael Clarke fast approaching endgame Zimbabwe make four changes for ODI series with Black Caps in Harare The Ashes: England on brink of big victory over Australia in third test Proteas bounce back in final session in Dhaka test Mitchell Johnson joins Australian 300 test wicket club in style South African bowler Dale Steyn joins 400-test wickets club

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has said it had no plans to adhere to India's demand and remove umpire Steve Bucknor from the third test against Australia.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has demanded Bucknor be stood down from the Test at the WACA Ground, which starts on January 16, following the poor performances of the Jamaican and England's Mark Benson during the second test at the SCG.

India were angered by several key decisions during the test, and insisted afterwards the result – a 122-run win to Australia – would have been different had half the incorrect decisions gone the tourists' way.

Benson is not scheduled to stand in the third test, but Bucknor is, with Pakistan's Asad Rauf.

However an ICC spokesman last night said cricket's governing body had no plans to change officials.

"We have not received anything from the BCCI at this point in time," the spokesman said.

"We have no plans to change the appointments."

India have called for Bucknor to be replaced despite it contradicting the laws of test cricket, which state teams do not have a say on which umpires officiate matches.

Ad Feedback

- AAP

Special offers
Opinion poll

Should bouncers be banned from cricket?

Yes - they're too dangerous

Neutral - it is what it is

No - it's just bad luck when it goes wrong

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content