Sri Lanka incensed at Martin Guptill DRS let-off on LBW call video

Sky Sport

Martin Guptill survived two close calls at the crease, but eventually struck out for 28.

Sri Lanka's irked cricketers finally got their man after Martin Guptill survived one of the more bizarre, elongated innings in the sixth one-day international in Dunedin.

The New Zealand opener looked gone twice, but was saved by a technology failure then a highly dubious third umpire's call, before he was dismissed for 28.

The controversial decision review system (DRS) finally got it right third time, when Hot Spot showed Guptill had got an inside edge on a delivery from Thisara Perera and was caught behind. Sri Lanka's DRS challenge was upheld, and local umpire Derek Walker finally raised his finger after Guptill had trudged off and crossed the boundary rope.

Black Caps batsman Martin Guptill.
Photosport

Black Caps batsman Martin Guptill.

Earlier, Sri Lanka's players were incensed and Guptill mighty relieved, after a let-off in the fourth over.

Guptill looked to be plumb lbw on six to Sri Lankan paceman Dhammika Prasad, but was given not out by Walker.

A disbelieving Prasad gestured immediately to call on the DRS, but the Sri Lankans were told by the umpires that a cabling issue with the Sky Television camera at the northern end meant it couldn't be used to adjudicate on lbw decisions.

The Sri Lankans weren't impressed, with Mahela Jayawardene heard on stump microphones expressing his displeasure and Prasad continuing to remonstrate with Walker.

Replays showed Guptill was lucky to be given not out after being struck on the front pad in line with middle stump. It would have reduced New Zealand to 10-2 after captain Brendon McCullum departed early to a brilliant running catch by Perera.

A New Zealand Cricket spokesman said under International Cricket Council rules, the DRS would continue to be used today with all technology available, meaning if the camera was fixed it could be called on.

There was more controversy soon afterwards when Guptill escaped a caught behind decision on 18, leaving the Sri Lankans wondering when they would catch a break.

Ad Feedback

Perera found the edge and it travelled low to gloveman Kumar Sangakkara, but there appeared to be doubt over whether the ball had carried.

Television replays appeared to show Sangakkara clearly getting his gloves under the ball, but third umpire Rod Tucker disagreed.

Sanity prevailed soon after as Guptill's unhappy 43-ball stay ended, leaving New Zealand 59-2 in the 14th over.

 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback