Mohammad Asif to open up over spot-fixing

Last updated 07:14 20/08/2013
Mohammad Asif
Reuters
HE'LL TALK: Pakistan cricketer Mohammad Asif arrives for a hearing at the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lausanne last February.

Relevant offers

Cricket

White Ferns to host Australia and try to end 17-year Rose Bowl drought Sri Lanka spinner Tharindu Kaushal reported for illegal bowling action Hamilton set to host Black Caps' pink ball warmup for Adelaide day-night test India's Ishant Sharma and Sri Lankan Dinesh Chandimal handed one-match bans Former Australia captain Michael Clarke pulls out of BBL deal with Melbourne Stars India clinch test series despite Angelo Mathews heroics Michael Papps takes over Wellington Firebirds captaincy as James Franklin farewelled Eoin Morgan leads England to dramatic win over Australia in one-off Twenty20 Cheteshwar Pujara holds firm for India against Sri Lanka Ashes 2015: Luck really is a fortune

Banned Pakistan pace bowler Mohammad Asif has agreed to reveal details of spot-fixing to the Anti-Corruption and Security Unit of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Asif, 30, who finally admitted last week to his involvement in spot-fixing during the 2010 Lord's test against England, submitted an apology and agreed to cooperate with the authorities after meeting with Pakistan Cricket Board officials on Monday.

He was banned by the ICC for seven years, two of which were suspended, along with former captain Salman Butt and fast bowler Mohammad Amir in early 2011.

The trio later served jail sentences in Britain after being found guilty of cheating and corruption by a crown court.

"I told the PCB officials I am ready to cooperate in every way with them and the ICC," Asif told Reuters.

"I don't know whether I will get a chance to play for Pakistan again but whatever happens I want everyone to know I want to make amends for my actions."'

Ad Feedback

- Reuters

Special offers
Opinion poll

Should bouncers be banned from cricket?

Yes - they're too dangerous

Neutral - it is what it is

No - it's just bad luck when it goes wrong

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content