George Bailey falls victim to Anderson, 'Snicko'

GREG BUCKLE
Last updated 01:53 28/12/2013

Relevant offers

Cricket

Australia cricketers embrace guided missile technology in Ashes quest Mitchell Starc ready for Caribbean comeback against South Africa and West Indies Black Caps coach Mike Hesson extends contract til 2019 Cricket World Cup Black Caps batsman Colin Munro's IPL campaign over as Sunrisers beat Kolkata Black Caps star Matt Henry inspires Worcestershire to big win over Leicestershire Daniel Vettori and Bangalore into IPL final thanks to stars de Villiers and Watson Creaky, leaky Basin Reserve snubbed for England test as NZC loses patience Kiwi teenager Glenn Phillips hits 36 off one over at historic English cricket ground Chris Gayle blames 'don't blush baby' comment on 'chilled and fun' T20 cricket New Zealand Cricket to bring in new safety measures, but helmets set to stay optional

George Bailey swears he didn't hit it, but the Real-Time Snicko technology told a different story.

And Bailey was told to tell his story walking as the Australian batsman was dismissed for a duck in his side's 9-164 on day two of the fourth Test against England at the MCG.

Bailey aimed a big cut shot at a short ball from Jimmy Anderson and was given not out by umpire Aleem Dar with Australia's score on 122.

The No.6 batsman called for a review which showed no contact on the HotSpot but the snicko indicated a faint edge.

TV umpire Billy Bowden overturned Dar's decision and Bailey's 19-ball innings of zero was over.

Australia also had some success with the Decision Review System (DRS) on Friday when Brad Haddin on 35 was given out lbw and successfully challenged the decision.

Haddin will resume on Saturday's third day of play on 43.

Australian opener Chris Rogers said the home side would have to cop it on the chin.

"If it's missing (the stumps) and you get the right decision, that's fine," Rogers said.

"The interesting one is George Bailey's. He's adamant he didn't hit it.

"But if you look back at the last Test, with what happened there, probably he had to be given out.

"Maybe there are still a few glitches in the system, but overall it's working pretty well."

Joe Root was adjudged caught behind off the bowling of Shane Watson for four in England's first innings of the third Test in Perth.

England called for a review which showed no edge on HotSpot, although the snicko picked up a faint sound.

TV umpire Tony Hill found there wasn't enough evidence to overturn the original decision of umpire Marais Erasmus.

Root departed visibly angry and shaking his head.

Ad Feedback

- AAP

Special offers
Opinion poll

Should bouncers be banned from cricket?

Yes - they're too dangerous

Neutral - it is what it is

No - it's just bad luck when it goes wrong

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content