Morgan claims he 'most certainly can bat'

Last updated 18:55 29/12/2013

Relevant offers

Cricket

Ravichandran Ashwin stars as India thrash West Indies in first test Jesse Ryder smashes quick century but can't save Essex England in command of second test against Pakistan, at Old Trafford Black Caps bowlers complete thrashing of Zimbabwe A Bee swarm has Black Caps ducking for cover as Sodhi spins through Zimbabwe A Joe Root masterclass puts England in total control of second Pakistan test Solid first day for Black Caps as four score half centuries in tour match Virat Kohli makes history as India take command Centurions Alastair Cook, Joe Root dazzle as England take command Spin whiz Ish Sodhi ready for big year after his dream Indian summer

Piers Morgan has replied to Sir Richard Hadlee's criticism of his cricket stunt with Brett Lee insisting he has some skill as a batsman.

During the lunch break of the second day of the Boxing Day test match between England and Australia, Brett Lee bowled at pace against the CNN presenter. They were settling a score after having a Twitter sledging match.

But in the stunt, Morgan was left scrambling as he couldn't see the ball being bowled in excess of 140kmh. Five of the six deliveries were directed at Morgan's body - giving Sir Richard Hadlee cause to speak out.

In a column written by the man widely regarded as New Zealand's greatest cricketer, Hadlee cries foul of the stunt, saying it was dangerous and not in the spirit of the game.

''If an umpire had been standing or controlling the encounter, Lee would not have been allowed to complete the six-ball over such was his brutal assault on Morgan - he would have been removed from the crease for persistent intimidating bowling,'' Hadlee wrote.

But Morgan made light of the claims by Hadlee in a tweeted reply to the column published on Stuff, saying he ''most certainly can bat''.

 

Ad Feedback

- Stuff

Special offers
Opinion poll

Should bouncers be banned from cricket?

Yes - they're too dangerous

Neutral - it is what it is

No - it's just bad luck when it goes wrong

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content