Woods drawn in high-profile group for Open

Alker in low-key group

Last updated 08:34 17/07/2012
Tiger Woods
Getty Images
TIGER WOODS: As usual will be more closely followed than any other golfer at this week's British Open.

Relevant offers


Rod Latham stymied by another son on links Romanos: Lydia Ko embarrassed by NZ Golf Kuchar holes out from bunker for tartan jacket Westwood ends a two-year drought in Malaysia Geary holds on in Auckland on the Charles Tour Disappointing finish for Lydia Ko earns her $13k Furyk and Martin join KJ Choi in Heritage lead Sullivan cuts Lee Westwood's lead cut to one Lydia Ko falls back in the third round in Hawaii Spanish golfer forced into lake to avoid hornets

Former world number one Tiger Woods will play alongside Sergio Garcia and Justin Rose in the opening two rounds of this week's British Open.

Woods, Spaniard Garcia and Briton Rose will tee off at 9.42am (8.42pm NZT) in Thursday's first round.

The 36-year-old American is looking to end a four-year drought in major championships, having won the last of his 14 'big four' titles at the 2008 U.S. Open.

Garcia, 32, and Rose, 31, are among the best modern-day players never to have won a major.

New Zealand 's lone entrant, Steve Alker, is drawn in a low-key group also including England's Lee Slattery and American Russ Cochran. They tee off at 10.53pm NZT.

Among the other highlights of the draw was the grouping of world number one Luke Donald with American left-hander Phil Mickelson and Australian Geoff Ogilvy.

World number two Rory McIlroy will partner 2010 British Open champion Louis Oosthuizen and 2011 U.S. PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley.

Lee Westwood, the world number three, was drawn with crowd-pleasing US Masters champion Bubba Watson and Japan's Yoshinori Fujimoto.

Title holder Darren Clarke is to play alongside triple major champion Ernie Els and former US Masters winner Zach Johnson.

The honour of striking the first blow of the 141st edition of the championship will fall to Britain's Barry Lane at 6.19am (7.19pm NZT).

Groups (local time):

6:19am: Barry Lane (ENG), James Driscoll (USA)

6:30: Richard Finch (ENG), Garth Mulroy (RSA)

6:41: Matthew Baldwin (ENG), Adilson Da Silva (BRA), Tadahiro Takayama (JPN)

6:52: Rafael Echenique (ARG), Kodai Ichihara (JPN), John Huh (USA)

7:03: Sandy Lyle (SCO), Todd Hamilton (USA), Mark Calcavecchia (USA)

7:14: Alejandro Canizares (ESP), Jeev Milkha Singh (IND), Greg Chalmers (AUS)

7:25: John Daly (USA), Chad Campbell (USA), Michael Hoey (NIR)

7:36: Thongchai Jaidee (THA), Justin Leonard (USA), Simon Khan (ENG)

7:47: David Duval (USA), Raphael Jacquelin (FRA), Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP)

7:58: Stephen Ames (CAN), Robert Rock (ENG), Kyle Stanley (USA)

8:09: Stewart Cink (USA), Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP), Johnson Wagner (USA)

8:20: Jamie Donaldson (WAL), Bill Haas (USA), Yang Yong-Eun (KOR)

8:31: Davis Love (USA), Tim Clark (RSA), Paul Lawrie (SCO)

8:42: Adam Scott (AUS), Alan Dunbar (NIR), Matt Kuchar (USA)

8:58: Vijay Singh (FIJ), Nick Watney (USA), Ian Poulter (ENG)

9:09: Darren Clarke (NIR), Ernie Els (RSA), Zach Johnson (USA)

Ad Feedback

9:20: Lee Westwood (ENG), Yoshinori Fujimoto (JPN), Bubba Watson (USA)

9:31: Dustin Johnson (USA), Graeme McDowell (NIR), Hiroyuki Fujita (JPN)

9:42: Tiger Woods (USA), Justin Rose (ENG), Sergio Garcia (ESP)

9:53: Ryo Ishikawa (JPN), Martin Kaymer (GER), Tom Watson (USA)

10:04: Thomas Bjorn (DEN), Aaron Baddeley (AUS), Charl Schwartzel (RSA)

10:15: Jason Dufner (USA), Martin Laird (SCO), Kevin Na (USA)

10:26: James Morrison (ENG), Daniel Chopra (SWE), Joost Luiten (NED)

10:37: Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN), Troy Matteson (USA), Thomas Aiken (RSA)

10:48: Brad Kennedy (AUS), Mardan Mamat (SIN), Steven Tiley (ENG)

10:59: Warren Bennett (ENG), Aaron Townsend (AUS), Grant Veenstra (RSA)

11:10: Dale Whitnell (ENG), Sam Walker (ENG), Elliot Saltman (SCO)

11:31: Bob Estes (USA), Steven O'Hara (SCO), Brendan Jones (AUS)

11:42: Juvic Pagunsan (PHI), Scott Pinckney (USA), Nicholas Cullen (AUS)

11:53: Steven Alker (NZL), Lee Slattery (ENG), Russ Cochran (USA)

12:04 p.m.: Tom Lehman (USA), Pablo Larrazabal (ESP), Greg Owen (ENG)

12:15: Marcel Siem (GER), George Coetzee (RSA), Chez Reavie (USA)

12:26: Marcus Fraser (AUS), Lucas Glover (USA), Gregory Havret (FRA)

12:37: Charles Howell (USA), Paul Broadhurst (ENG), Richard Sterne (RSA)

12:48: Carl Pettersson (SWE), Kim K.T. (KOR), Gary Woodland (USA)

12:59: Ben Curtis (USA), Paul Casey (ENG), Trevor Immelman (RSA)

1:10: Robert Karlsson (SWE), Mark Wilson (USA), Branden Grace (RSA)

1:21: Harris English (USA), Simon Dyson (ENG), Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP)

1:32: Angel Cabrera (ARG), K.J. Choi (KOR), Ross Fisher (ENG)

1:43: Jonathan Byrd (USA), Sang-Moon Bae (KOR), Alvaro Quiros (ESP)

1:59: Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL), Hunter Mahan (USA), John Senden (AUS)

2:10: Bo Van Pelt (USA), Francesco Molinari (ITA), Toshinori Muto (JPN)

2:21: Rory McIlroy (NIR), Louis Oosthuizen (RSA), Keegan Bradley (USA)

2:32: Rickie Fowler (USA), Padraig Harrington (IRL), Manuel Trappel (AUT)

2:43: Luke Donald (ENG), Phil Mickelson (USA), Geoff Ogilvy (AUS)

2:54: Steve Stricker (USA), Toru Taniguchi (JPN), Anders Hansen (DEN)

3:05: Peter Hanson (SWE), Retief Goosen (RSA), Robert Allenby (AUS)

3:16: Jim Furyk (USA), Koumei Oda (JPN), Fredrik Jacobson (SWE)

3:27: Marc Leishman (AUS), Brandt Snedeker (USA), Alexander Noren (SWE)

3:38: Andres Romero (ARG), Jbe Kruger (RSA), Richie Ramsay (SCO)

3:49: Ted Potter (USA), Ian Keenan (ENG), Andrew Georgiou (RSA)

4:00: Troy Kelly (USA), Morten Orum Madsen (DEN), Anirban Lahiri (IND)

4:11: Prayad Marksaeng (THA), Justin Hicks (USA), Ashley Hall (AUS)

- Reuters

Special offers
Opinion poll

Should the NZ taxpayer financially assist pro golfer Lydia Ko?

Yes, let's back her to win big

Yes, but only until the 2016 Olympics

No, she's a professional

Lydia who? Don't care

Vote Result

Related story: (See story)

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content