More V8s wins to come for Volvo - McLaughlin

Last updated 00:45 18/05/2014
Scott McLaughlin
Getty Images
HISTORY MAKER: Scott McLaughlin celebrates after winning the first race at Perth's Barbagallo Raceway, the first victory for Swedish manufacturer Volvo in 28 years and McLaughlin's third.

Relevant offers


Dates for 2018 Toyota Racing Series confirmed with usual five stops featuring IndyCar ace Scott Dixon turns attention to racing in Wisconsin Monster McLaren gathering a tribute to NZ's Bruce McLaren Engineer reunited with one of Manawatu's fastest home-built racing cars Kiwi tracks the fortunes of Maserati racing trio Le Mans miracle: How Kiwi duo went from down and out to the top step at Circuit de la Sarthe Kiwi Le Mans champion Earl Bamber: No 2 Porsche fought back from brink of early exit From karters to Le Mans champions - Hartley and Bamber still racing together Kiwis Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber win 24 Hours Le Mans race Scott McLaughlin continues New Zealand drivers' hot Supercars form with big win in Darwin

Scott McLaughlin is confident Volvo's breakthrough V8 Supercars win in Perth won't be their last this season.

The Kiwi young gun delivered the Swedish manufacturer their first championship victory in 28 years with a measured performance in the weekend's opening sprint race at Barbagallo Raceway on Saturday.

Despite a poor start from pole position, McLaughlin fought his way back to stand atop the podium for the third time in his short career.

"I'm very stoked to have it happen," he said.

Not since 1986 has Volvo won a championship race - their last season in the category and the same year Robbie Francevic won the Australian touring car title in a 240T.

McLaughlin said the win would mean the world to team owner Garry Rogers, but also for his mum, dad and sister.

"It was a big decision to be with Volvo and just to continue my career at GRM," he said.

"We went through some rough times while doing that and it was a bit emotional.

"So to do it and to show that I've made the right decision is a big thing in my life and my career."

The 20-year-old has been one of the standout drivers in 2014 - his first season in V8 Supercars.

Before Saturday, he'd already claimed three podiums and as many poles in the new S60 - plus a non-championship triumph at the Australian Grand Prix.

But McLaughlin isn't about to get complacent and predicts there'll more wins are on the cards for his factory-backed outfit.

"Yeah for sure, we're not slowing down," he said.

"We just want to keep going and we'll keep working hard to do that."

His win overshadowed a comeback-of-sorts for Holden veteran Craig Lowndes, who took race two honours later in the day.

The victory equalled Mark Skaife's record for most wins at a single track at 15.

Lowndes crossed the line ahead of championship leader Mark Winterbottom and defending champion Jamie Whincup.

McLaughlin started from second on the grid but, after almost missing the start to fix a broken exhaust head, finished fourth.

Winterbottom now holds a comfortable 110-point buffer over Lowndes on the overall standings, with Holden stars Fabian Coulthard and James Courtney third and fourth respectively.

While Whincup's first podium in eight races helped bump him up a spot to fifth, the gap between him and Winterbottom has widened.

"I'm slowly dwindling away into the pack," the five-time title winner quipped.

"But there's still a lot of water to run under the bridge before (the season finale in) Sydney, so there's no panic stations."

Ad Feedback

A longer 200km race on Sunday will cap off the round in Western Australia, with qualifying to begin at 2.35pm (NZ time).


Special offers
Opinion poll

Who is your favourite V8 Supercars driver?

Scott McLaughlin

Shane Van Gisbergen

Fabian Coulthard

Jamie Whincup

Mark Winterbottom

Craig Lowndes

Vote Result

Related story: (See story)

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content