Shane van Gisbergen's Sydney twin race wins

Last updated 22:56 23/08/2014
Shane van Gisbergen
Getty Images
VICTORY: Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen celebrates winning the first race of the V8 Supercars Sydney Motorsport Park round.

Relevant offers


Kieran Read and Scott Dixon named in US magazine's 50 fittest male athletes Giant Indy 500 trophy built by toy-maker to celebrate 100th running of famous race Kiwi Scott Dixon to start Indy 500 from 13 on the grid after fast engine change helps him Jorge Lorenzo passes Marc Marquez at end for photo-finish win at Italian MotoGP Scott Dixon misses out on Fast Nine Shootout in Indy 500 qualifying Dramatic Formula 3 crash leaves two drivers in hospital Tim Slade goes back-to-back in V8 Supercars with Kiwi Fabian Coulthard third Scott McLaughlin takes lead in V8 Supercars championship after second in Winton Kiwi WRC pair Hayden Paddon and John Kennard unhurt after car goes up in flames Scott McLaughlin gets over the bad news about Volvo to enjoy great season

Shane van Gisbergen hates driving in the rain - not that you could tell on Saturday.

The Kiwi opened the weekend's V8 Supercars round at a soggy Sydney Motorsport Park with wins in both 100km races.

Not since Sandown in November 2011 has the championship endured a full day of wet racing, but van Gisbergen mastered it in his Holden to claim his first set of back-to-back victories.

''I can't explain why I go alright in (the wet),'' said the Tekno Autosports driver, who started the pair of sprints from fourth and sixth respectively.

''I've never enjoyed it.

''It rained almost every race in Formula Ford in New Zealand and sitting in an open cockpit car was the worst thing.

''I do, though, enjoy floating the car around and sliding a lot.''

The result helped Holden secure the manufacturers' championship for a fifth straight year.

Red Bull Racing's Jamie Whincup, who finished fourth and third  in the two sprints, extended his series lead to 69 points over Ford Performance Racing's (FPR) Mark Winterbottom.

Yet the Holden star, who also broke Peter Brock's record for most pole positions in Australian touring car history, maintains it's still too early in the season to worry about the 2014 title.

''I'm not thinking about the championship at all - I certainly  wasn't being conservative out there,'' said Whincup, chasing a record sixth crown this year.

''It was dog-eat-dog, I was trying to win that (second) race and the best I could do was third.''

Winterbottom was intent on regaining his spot on top of the leaderboard after losing it to Whincup last round, but could only  manage two 12th-place finishes.

He's 186 points ahead of veteran Craig Lowndes in third.

The day went a little better for his younger FPR teammate Chaz  Mostert, who went from 16th in race one to second in race two.

Volvo endured a horror debut at the western Sydney circuit.

After qualifying on the front row for both races, Scott  McLaughlin was forced into early retirement - the first with power  steering failure and the second because of a popped rear tyre.

His teammate Robert Dahlgren's day was also cut short after  spinning out early in race two.

Holden's Tim Slade was the slippery track's first casualty after clashing with Ford pilot David Reynolds on the opening lap of the  first race.

Sydney Motorsport Park - formerly known as Eastern Creek Raceway - has only hosted two championship rounds since 2008, the last in  2012.

Ad Feedback

It's the first time, however, the category's new generation of cars has raced at the western Sydney circuit.

The round closes with a 200km race on Sunday.


Special offers
Opinion poll

Who is your favourite V8 Supercars driver?

Scott McLaughlin

Shane Van Gisbergen

Fabian Coulthard

Jamie Whincup

Mark Winterbottom

Craig Lowndes

Vote Result

Related story: (See story)

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content