Curtain to come down on 2016/2017 season of racing at Teretonga Park

Invercargill driver Liam MacDonald.
Robyn Edie

Invercargill driver Liam MacDonald.

Fresh off being crowned the Class 2 BNT NZ Touring Car Champion Liam MacDonald will line up at Teretonga Park this weekend in the Clubmans Saloons in the final meeting of the season at Teretonga Park on Sunday.

He will race alongside other potential frontrunners such as Tony Mann of Dunedin in a Capri, Dion Dawson of

Invercargill in a Saker GT, and Adam Cullen of Dunedin in a Skyline GTR.

Jamie Conroy of Invercargill, top rookie and third in the Class 2 Touring Car Championship, will compete in Wal Willmott's Star Car.

Adam Cullen may be the early favourite although it is hard to pick a winner for the One Hour race.

Local driver Jordan Michels, third in this year's National Formula 1600 Championship, will join Boyd Wilson in his Falcon in the race.

Justin Ashwell of Rolleston, fresh from some successful outings in the NZ Touring Car Championship, will be one of the form drivers in the NZ Six Saloons while Paul Clarke of Dunedin in his Mustang will be the one to beat in Pre 65 Saloons where locals John Smolenski (XP Falcon) and Ewan MacPherson in an Anglia also line up.

Owen Jenkins of Hamilton has made the long trek south to compete in the Pre 65's in his Morris Minor 1000.

The action begins at 9am with qualifying followed by racing a short time later.


Ad Feedback

 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback