Australia dominant at Oceania Track Champs

KATIE SCHOFIELD: Collected gold with Natasha Hansen in the women's team sprint.
KATIE SCHOFIELD: Collected gold with Natasha Hansen in the women's team sprint.

Australia have won eight of a possible 12 gold medals on the opening night of the Oceania Track Championships at the Adelaide Super-Drome.

The other four golds went to Kiwis with Natasha Hansen and Katie Schofield winning the women's team sprint gold in a time of 34.450 and the elite men's team of Eddie Dawkins, Cameron Karwowski and Matt Dodds taking out the 1000m time trial.

Dylan Kennett won gold in the elite men's 15km scratch race ahead of fellow New Zealander Pieter Bulling.

At under-19 level Kiwi Alice Hay won the 7.5km scratch race final ahead of Australians Samantha Fromentin and Ruby Greig-Hurtig.

The night however belonged to Australia.

In the women's team pursuit, Australia's Ashlee Ankudinoff, London Olympic omnium bronze medallist Annette Edmondson and Isabella King beat New Zealand by 10 seconds to win gold with a time of 3 minutes 23.812 seconds.

"I'm over the moon. It's the first time we have ridden as a team together," said Ankudinoff, who claimed both the omnium and team pursuit silver medals at last week's Glasgow round of the UCI Track Cycling World Cup Series.

Later on Wednesday evening, Ankudinoff claimed her second gold in the women's 10km scratch race, defeating King and Edmondson respectively.

In the men's team pursuit, the Australian quartet of Miles Scotson, Alexander Morgan, Mitchell Mulhern and newly crowned Subaru National Road Series winner Luke Davison posted a time of 4:02.106 to claim gold over New Zealand.

"This win is a great stepping stone for us as a group," said Morgan.

Just prior to the race, London Olympian Alex Edmondson was forced to withdraw after being struck with food poisoning on the eve of the championships.

Despite the loss, the newly formed team looked very much the part on the track as they powered to the title.

"Like the women, it's the first time we have raced together and we had a good smooth ride coming in at 4.02 - that is just fantastic," Morgan said.

Australia also collected gold in the men's team sprint as the trio of Matthew Glaetzer, Alex Bird and Peter Lewis (44.066) defeated New Zealand.

Sixteen-year-old Jack Edwards was one of the emerging stars who excelled on night one, with the NSW rider claiming his first Oceania title in the under 19 individual pursuit.

Edwards caught his older opponent, reigning junior time trial world champion Zac Shaw, in the dying stages of the event, powering to the line to record a time of 3:10.250.

London Olympic team sprint bronze medallist Kaarle McCulloch blitzed her way to the women's 500m time trial title, covering the two laps in 34:260 to edge New Zealand's Schofield (35:342) and Stephanie McKenzie (35:562).

Australia enjoyed a clean sweep of the under 19 women's 500m time trial with Tian Beckett (Western Australia) claiming gold (35:699), Tennille Falappi silver (37:016) and Victoria's Emily Apolito taking home the bronze medal (37:596).

In the under 19 men's team sprint, South Australia's Jai Angsuthasawit, Patrick Constable and Alexander Radzikiewicz (46:669) clinched gold over New Zealand, while NSW teammates Michael Docker, Max Housden and Travis Smedley claimed bronze (47:298).

The under 19 men's omnium also got under way on day one, with Sam Welsford claiming the first round 'Flying Lap' event, with Nick Kergozou (NZ) second and Bradley Heffernan third.

Round two saw Matthew Holmes win the points race over Joshua Harrison second and Theodore Yates third, while in the 'Elimination Race' third round, SA's Josh Harrison won ahead of Michael Rice and Bradley Heffernan.

The 2013 Oceania Track Championships finish on Saturday.

- AAP with Fairfax NZ News