Bond and Uru overcome setback to claim gold

Last updated 18:40 22/02/2013

Relevant offers

Other Sports

Joseph Parker's replacement opponent found for WBO title fight Simon van Velthooven picking up the art of sailing quickly Will an Anthony Joshua win mean a revival for heavyweight boxing? Quiz: Test your sports knowledge - April 25 Olympic bronze medalist Sam Meech targets Tokyo 2020 Deontay Wilder humiliates Hughie Fury and calls out Joseph Parker for unification bout Black Sticks improve ahead of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Remember when people said boxing was dead? Team New Zealand look slick in second Bermuda sail after early rudder issue Fury camp attack Joseph Parker's handlers as WBO title spat gets ugly

Hamish Bond and Jade Uru had more than a few nervous moments before they secured the premier men's pair for Southern RPC on the second day of finals at the National Rowing Championships, on Lake Ruataniwha today.

The New Zealand representative duo had gear breakage with their steering during the final which caused them to stop to try and fix it.

They lost their two boat lengths lead as the other crews rowed past them. It meant Bond had to push harder than he would have liked to claw back on the others.

They managed to still take out the race, but not as convincingly as they would have liked.

Silver medallists were Auckland RPCs Bobby Kells and Adam Tripp in 6:44.48 just over a boat length behind Uru and Bond and bronze went tom the other Southern RPC crew of James Lassche and Armin Svoboda Jnr in 6:48.86

The lightweight mens single sculls was won by German Jost Schoemann-Finck who crossed the line ahead of 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Peter Taylor from Auckland RPC. 

Taylor and Schoemann-Finck shared the podium for first place, as international winners are entitled to a medal, but not the title, meaning Taylor defended his national title.

The German representing his club Saarbrucken won in a time of 7:13.01. 

Taylor followed a few lengths back in 7:17.16. Duncan Grant of Central was third.

There is a lot of strength in the men's lightweight class for New Zealand, as they build on the success of the lightweight double in London in the hope to field a lightweight four in the next Olympic cycle. 

Rowing New Zealand aims to qualify boats in all 14 boat classes for Rio 2016.

The women's premier pair of Rebecca Scown and Linda Mathews from Central RPC had a fast finish as they stormed up on the crews from Southern and Auckland RPCs but it wasn't enough, they claimed the bronze.

Eve MacFarlane and Grace Prendergast won the gold in a strong race for Southern RPC in a time of 7:19.53 ahead of Auckland RPCs Kelsey Bevan and Kayla Pratt in 7:21.43 followed closely in 0.2 of a second byScown and Mathews in 7:21.63. 

The open women's lightweight single sculls was won by Lucy Strack from Southern RPC who took the title off Julia Edward of Waikato RPC.

Edward was relegated to the bronze medal after Sophie MacKenzie from Central RPC took the silver in a time of 7:55.50.

Last year, MacKenzie represented New Zealand in the Under 23 World Championships where she won bronze in the lightweight double sculls.

She is a promising young star in the lightweight class and will hope to break into the elites in 2013. Strack won in a time of 7:50.51.

Ad Feedback

Central RPCs Joseph Sullivan and Robbie Manson retained their men's premier double title. 

After suffering a seat gear breakage on the way to the start, Sullivan and Manson got their nose in front of the young and up-and-comers Hayden Cohen and Nathan Flannery at the finishing line to scoop the gold.

"We didn't have much left in the tank at the 250m to go so we were lucky to hold Southern RPC off," Manson said.

Southern clocked in a time of 6:35.59, just over one second behind Manson and Sullivan.

Central's second crew of Karl Manson and Joe Wright won the bronze.

The women's premier double was won by Waikato RPC crew of Sarah Gray and Zoe Stevenson in a time of 7:16.25.

Ruby Willis, sister of Olympic 1500m runner Nick Willis, competed in the women's novice fours and won silver for Petone Rowing club alongside her team mates Beth Ross, Claire Wright, Amy Wright andcox Niamey Izzett. 

Christchurch's Avon Rowing Club won the gold in a time of 7:42.86.

The men's club quadruple sculls was the race of the day where there was only three quarters of a second separating first and fourth places, meaning a photo finish was in order for the judges. 

Petone Rowing Club won the gold ahead of Bay of Plenty while Blenheim only missed out on bronze by .03 of a second to North Shore.

The women's senior double sculls was another closely fought race for first and second, as the Hauraki Plains rowers fought hard to catch Avon Rowing Club to snatch the gold, but they left their run too late.

Avon took the gold in a time of 7:33.20 and Hauraki was less than a second behind in 7:34.17. West End claimed the bronze.

Women's premier coxless four was won by Auckland RPCs crew of Kelsi Walters, Kayla Pratt, Kelsey Bevan and Abbey Green with clear water to Southern RPC in second.

The last race of the day was dominated by Waikato RPC who comfortably won the men's premier coxless four.

The regatta concludes tomorrow with the last day of finals. 

- Fairfax Media

Special offers
Opinion poll

Will Shane Cameron beat Kali Meehan on Saturday?

For sure. Cameron will knock him out.

It will be close but I think Cameron on points.

Meehan will knock him out. This is his last fight.

I'm tipping Meehan to win on points.

Vote Result

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content