Manson bros named in NZ double scull for 2014

12:12, Apr 08 2014

Blenheim brothers Robbie and Karl Manson have been confirmed as the new Kiwi men's double scull for the 2014 international season.

The Manson siblings - Robbie is 24 and Karl 22 - form a rejigged men's double scull combination after Michael Arms had to withdraw because of ongoing back problems.

Arms and Robbie Manson took over the New Zealand men's double sculls boat last year from the 2012 Olympic champions Joseph Sullivan and Nathan Cohen. The new combination won all three World Cup regattas in 2013 before Arms suffered a lower back disc injury in the lead-up to the world champs in South Korea, where they finished sixth in the final.

The Manson brothers have never teamed up at the elite level, but have raced together before. They won the men's premier double scull for Central RPC at this year's national championships and raced together in 2010 in the men's double scull at the under-23 level.

Their burgeoning partnership in 2010 was cut short when Karl was struck by a dose of glandular fever late that year.

"We never got to reach our full potential in the boat in 2010 with Karl getting sick," Robbie said.


"We are excited to get the opportunity to row together again. It is pretty special to be in the elite double with my brother.

"We have confidence in each other, and believe in each other and we look forward to training together to prepare for racing at the world cups and the world championships.

"I'm gutted for Mike [Michael Arms] with his injury, but I know he will be back and fighting hard in the summer."

Karl Manson got a late callup to the elite men's quadruple scull in 2013 after Cohen pulled out of the crew at the world championships due to his heart condition.

"It is good to be able to finish what we started in 2010, when we couldn't achieve what we wanted to," Karl said.

"We have just had a successful summer in the double and we enjoy rowing together so we look forward to what this season brings."

Arms' original disc injury has healed but the wear that the disc has been subject to has caused inflammation around the facet joints of the vertebrae.

He now aims to rejoin the summer squad later in the year.

Giacomo Thomas comes in as the non-travelling reserve after the seat trial found that the Manson brothers made the fastest combination on the water.

In total 26 athletes in 11 Olympic-class boats will compete at the 2014 world championships at Amsterdam.

The men's under-23 eight will also compete at the third World Cup in Lucerne.


Crews to attend World Cup Aigbuelette France, World Cup Lucerne Switzerland, World Championships - Amsterdam, The Netherlands 

Women's single scull

Emma Twigg (Hawkes Bay RC, Auckland RPC) Gary Hay (coach) Women's double scull Zoe Stevenson (Tauranga RC, Waikato RPC) Fiona Bourke (Otago University RC, Southern RPC) Dick Tonks (coach)

Women's coxless pair

Rebecca Scown (Union Wanganui RC, Central RPC) Louise Trappitt (Star BC, Central RPC) Gary Hay (coach)

Women's quad

Erin-Monique O'Brien (Petone RC, Central RPC) Lucy Spoors (Canterbury RC, Southern RPC) Georgia Perry (Cambridge RC, Waikato RPC) Sarah Gray (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC) Mike Rodger (coach)

Women's lightweight double scull

Lucy Strack (North End RC, Southern RPC) Julia Edward (Rotorua RC, Waikato RPC) Gary Hay (coach)

Men's single scull

Mahe Drysdale (West End RC, Auckland RPC) Dick Tonks (coach)

Men's coxless pair

Hamish Bond (North End RC, Southern RPC) Eric Murray (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC) Noel Donaldson (coach)

Men's quad

Chris Harris (Aramoho-Wanganui RC, Central RPC) Nathan Flannery (Union Christchurch RC, Southern RPC) John Storey (Avon RC, Southern RPC) Jade Uru (Waihopai RC, Southern RPC) Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Men's lightweight coxless four

Curtis Rapley (Tauranga RC, Waikato RPC) James Lassche (Avon RC, Southern RPC) Peter Taylor (Auckland RC, Auckland RPC) James Hunter (Wellington RC, Central RPC) Dave Thompson (coach)
Men's lightweight double scull

Alistair Bond (Otago University RC, Southern RPC) Adam Ling (Tauranga RC, Waikato RPC) Dave Thompson (coach)

Men's double scull

Robbie Manson (Wairau RC, Central RPC) Karl Manson (Blenheim RC, Central RPC) Calvin Ferguson (coach) 
Non-travelling reserves Linda Matthews (Star BC, Central RPC) Kayla Pratt (Auckland RC, Auckland RPC) Kelsey Bevan (Counties-Manukau RC, Auckland RPC) Giacomo Thomas (Hawkes Bay RC, Auckland RPC)

Men's eight 

*(Will compete at Lucerne World Cup only) Stephen Jones (West End RC, Auckland RPC) Brook Robertson (Nelson RC, Central RPC) Alex Kennedy (Te Awamutu RC, Waikato RPC) Joe Wright (Wellington RC, Central RPC) Finn Howard (North Shore RC, Auckland RPC) Shaun Kirkham (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC) Isaac Grainger (Auckland RC, Auckland RPC) Tom Murray (Blenheim RC, Central RPC) Caleb Shepherd (Coxswain) (Waikato RC, Waikato RPC) Ian Wright (coach)