Lisa Allpress clinches jockey premiership

Last updated 20:01 30/07/2012
El Chico
HAPPY: Lisa Allpress has won the national jockeys' premiership.

Relevant offers


Godolphin to face a stewards inquiry for failing to report strangles case Torcedor runs well at Royal Ascot for Kiwi owners Galaxy Miss to test favourite New York Minute in Tauranga feature Sam Logan scratching her head over underperforming Ngatira Gold Barrier draws could cause problems for Mark Purdon at Menangle Bjorn Baker looks to keep good run going to win family battle Thirty nominations for inaugural Amazing Chase series Chris Johnson suspension adds another twist in jockeys' premiership plot Impending fatherhood has Troy Harris setting goals Australian campaign possible for Chris Wood-trained Pacorus

Lisa Allpress has clinched the national jockeys' premiership.

The Whanganui rider picked up one more win at Oamaru today, to give her 159 wins for the season, three clear of Auckland rider Matt Cameron.

Allpress and Cameron travelled around the country as they waged a see-saw battle for the last six weeks of the racing year.

Remarkably, the pair had almost exactly the same number of rides over that period - 169 for Cameron and 168 for Allpress - but Allpress finished better, with 29 wins since June 19, compared to 19 for Cameron.

Allpress went into the Oamaru meeting with a two-win advantage and picked up a victory on Captain Cruising while Cameron had two seconds and a third from six mounts.

It is the first premiership title for 37-year-old Allpress, who is the second woman to win the New Zealand premiership, the first being Lisa Cropp.

Allpress had 1063 rides over the season and her mounts earned more than $2.25 million in stakes.

The record for the number of wins in a New Zealand season is 207, recorded by James McDonald last year.

Allpress had to share the honours yesterday with Matamata trainer John Sargent who picked up four wins to establish a record tally.

Sargent, who also produced two quinellas at Omaru, took his wins for the season to 111, eclipsing the previous best of 108, recorded by Mark Walker in 2010.

Ad Feedback

- Fairfax Media

Special offers
Opinion poll

How did you fare with your Melbourne Cup punting?

Nailed it, Protectionist you beauty

Not all bad, a nice little profit

Good and bad, I came out about even

Lost a little, but it could be worse

Crashed and burned, there's always next year though

Vote Result

Related story: (See story)

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content