All Blacks' World Cup training bases selected

11:43, Aug 27 2014
Olympic Stadium, London
OLYMPIC STADIUM: The All Blacks play Namibia in the World Cup at the venue built for the 2012 London Olympics.

From a posh university on the outskirts of London to a third division rugby club in the north-east of England, the All Blacks have had their training bases confirmed for next year's World Cup.

The defending champions will have three bases for their four matches in pool play.

They will use the Lensbury and St Mary's University in the south-west London area for their opening clash with Argentina at Wembley Stadium on September 20 and the following fixture against Namibia at Olympic Stadium four days later.

The university's facilities had a major upgrade ahead of the 2012 Olympics where they were also used extensively. They feature two rugby fields, a pool, gymnasium and a new team-style accommodation facility.

The All Blacks will then move to Cardiff and use the Sport Wales National Training Centre for the buildup to their clash with Georgia at the Millennium Stadium on October 2.

The Cardiff facility operates as the hub of Welsh sport with the national netball, gymnastics and hockey teams based there.


The All Blacks then face a haul to Darlington, just south of Newcastle for their final pool match against Tonga, which will be played at the Newcastle football club's famous ground, St James Park.

The All Blacks will use the Darlington Mowden Park rugby club as their base. Newly promoted to the third tier of English rugby, the club is housed at the 25,000-seater Darlington Arena.

New Zealand's training facilities for playoff matches will depend on their progress, but both the Lensbury and St Mary's University and Cardiff base are listed as bases for the knockout phase of the tournament.

World Cup organisers have chosen 41 training bases to be used by the 20 teams.

Hosts England have retained their traditional base at the luxurious Pennyhill Park in Bagshot.

Almost 100 clubs and facilities made bids to be used for the World Cup.

International Rugby Board chairman Bernard Lapasset hailed the organising committee's preparations as the team bases were announced today.

"The teams participating at England 2015 will have access to exceptional facilities the length and breadth of the host nation," he said.

"It is the attention to detail on and off the field that will elevate this event to new levels.'"


Argentina: Cheltenham RFC (Cheltenham RFC, Leisure@, Gym 66); Haileybury School, St George's Park.

Australia: University of Bath; Dulwich College.

Canada: Cardiff Metropolitan University; West Park Leeds RUFC (West Park Leeds RUFC, John Charles Centre for Sport); Leicester Grammar School; Swansea University (Swansea University, Wales National Pool Swansea).

England: Pennyhill Park; Salford (The AJ Bell Stadium, Irlam and Cadishead Leisure Centre).

Fiji: Milton Keynes and MK Dons (Woughton On The Green, Bletchley Leisure Centre); Swansea University; London Irish RFC (London Irish RFC, Elmbridge Xcel Leisure Complex).

France: The Vale Resort; Trinity School Croydon.

Georgia: Woodbury Park and Bicton College (Woodbury Park Hotel and Golf Club, Bicton College); Bristol and SGS Wise (South Gloucestershire and Stroud College, Bradley Stoke Leisure Centre); Celtic Manor and Newport (Newport High School/Active Living Centre, The Celtic Academy).

Ireland: Celtic Manor and Newport; St George's Park; Surrey Sports Park; Sport Wales National Centre.

Italy: Surrey Sports Park; Cobham RFC (Cobham RFC, ACS Cobham).

Japan: Warwick School; Brighton College.

Namibia: Loughborough University; Cobham RFC; Plymouth (University of St Mark and St John, Plymouth Albion RFC, Plymouth Life Centre and Royal Navy Rugby Union).

New Zealand: The Lensbury and St Mary's University; Sport Wales National Centre; Darlington Mowden Park (Darlington Mowden Park RFC, Middlesbrough FC).

Romania: Sutton Coldfield RFC (Sutton Coldfield RFC, Birmingham Metropolitan College, Wyndley Leisure Centre, CrossFitB76); Woodbury Park and Bicton College, Dulwich College.

Samoa: Sutton Coldfield RFC; University of Brighton (University of Brighton, Prince Regent Swimming Complex); Gateshead (Gateshead International Stadium, Gateshead Leisure Centre, Gateshead College); Milton Keynes and MK Dons.

Scotland: Hartpury College; Leeds Metropolitan University and University of Leeds; Newcastle Royal Grammar School.

South Africa: The Lensbury and St Mary's University; University of Birmingham; Gateshead; Eastbourne College and University of Brighton (Eastbourne College, University of Brighton - Eastbourne College).

Tonga: Cheltenham RFC, Loughborough University; University of Exeter; University of Northumbria.

USA: Haileybury School; Hartpury College; Leeds Trinity University (Leeds Trinity University, Kirkstall Leisure Centre); Portsmouth Royal Navy Rugby Union.

Wales: The Vale Resort; London Irish RFC.

Final Qualification Play-off Winner (TBC): Celtic Manor and Newport; Loughborough University; Moulton College; Manchester (Broughton Park FC Rugby Union, The Hough End Centre, Manchester Aquatics Centre).

Knockout phase bases: Celtic Manor and Newport; Swansea University; The Vale Resort; Sport Wales National Centre; Pennyhill Park; Surrey Sports Park; The Lensbury and St Mary's University; London Irish RFC.

Share on Facebook